Shrimp Tetrazzini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This was a simple and delicious recipe. I did make a couple small changes... I left out the mushrooms and sherry (because I didn't have either). I used a frozen onion and pepper veggie mix (because I didn't have fresh onions). I also mixed the parmesan cheese in with the shrimp/pasta mixture, along with sprinkling it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was very good. No changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was pretty good. Nothing spectacular, but easy to make and adapt to your liking. I added red pepper flakes and used cream instead of milk. Made it richer and more fattening! I agree with others that you need to saute garlic with the onion and double the shrimp. A good family night recipe. I made garlic cheese biscuits to really make the meal and give us really bad breath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Very good, first time for us to try shrimp in this manner of cooking. We changed a few things, made a double batch. Used two bags of frozen shrimp, pulled off tails set aside, used 1/2 stick of butter, extra onions, plus added three crushed garlic cloves to the butter mix, sauted' until onions were clear-- set aside off burner --- in the sauce portion, added two tsp of concentrated lemon juice, half brick cream cheese, one tbsp Mrs. Dash Original spice, 1/2 tsp lemon pepper, 1/2 cup lite mayo,+ 1/2 cup of flour, three cups of skim milk,should have used four- came out a little pasty --- put 1/2 cup parm in with sauce mixture, left out the sherry, cooked until creamy, added the mushrooms, onion, butter, and shrimp mixture to the spaghtti, mixed it altogether with the sauce, put in lg corning dish, sprinkled top with parm cheese, then covered top with oyster crackers, then we had a pak of sharp chedder cheese, and that went on top of crackers, baked @ 350 degrees for 50 min. I defy anyone to say that this is a bland recipe. If you want to spice it up a little bit more, add extra Mrs. Dash. Should be good with a diced chicken, turkey, potatos, vegies mix, too. Will try that next time. Our thanks to Christy J. mudbug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This recipe is GREAT!!! I didnt have mushrooms, so I used tomatoes instead, and it was amazing. The color comes out beautiful too. I like to add parsley and maybe a little garlic pepper to the cream sauce when Im cooking it to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
kind of on the bland side... I used whole wheat flour & noodles since that was what I had, but I felt like the sauce could have used more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnitopia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I did not care for this recipe! The sauce tasted like pure flour. I made it exactly as the directions followed. Then I tried all that I could do to "save" it and nothing I added made it any better. We are NOT picky eaters....and we do not expect 5 star meals everynight....this one was just one of those zero star recipes. Check my feedback, I usually love everything that I make. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is a 4.5 stars recipe with the following subsitutions. 1. Double the ammount of shrimp (1 pound) 2. Add one crushed clove of garlic and a few good shakes of Old Bay to the onion/mushroom/butter/shrimp mixture 3. Add cracked black pepper and 2 tablespoons of cream cheese to the "sauce" 4. Mix the parm into the tetrazzini and then sprinkle an additional 1/4 cup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuna, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This recipe was excellent! I used 16 oz. of shrimp instead of the 8 oz. recommended and I used more pasta. Even so, there was enough sauce. I also sprinkled buttered bread crumbs on the top before putting it in the oven, as another reviewer suggested and it added a nice crunchy contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I couldn't understand all the reviews that said the dish was bland; the ingredients look right, and seemed like it would be fine. Well, it is bland. It's the sauce- the only "flavor" is salt and sherry. Although I sauteed the shrimp with mushrooms, onion and garlic, (and cayanne and black pepper) it is not enough to help the sauce, which I made exactly as directed. I've never had tetrazzini before though; maybe it is supposed to taste like this. Either way, I will not make this again without serious modifications to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States