Shrimp Summer Rolls with Asian Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This was a nice easy dish, though I would recommend to halve the teriaki sauce in both the salad and the peanut sauce. Both were a little salty. I also added some sprouts and coriander (cilantro) to the salad to make it a little more Asian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
An excellent recipe. Easy and very tasty. I agree with the previous reviewer that the rolls are a tad salty (I would also cut down on the teriyaki). I thought the peanut sauce, however, was excellent as is. I fried the rolls and have a piece of advice on that front: use two rice papers to wrap each roll. With only one, they often burst in the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I guess I did something wrong. I couldn't finish one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I just made the spring roll portion of this recipe. it was quite good. I had a package of regular shredded cabbage on hand so I used that instead of the napa cabbage. I was making a thai peanut chicken dish so I just dipped these in that sauce. I baked mine a bit and theyw ere good that way but i think tonight I'll try them as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This looked like a good recipe but something was missing. I added mung bean noodles and thin strips of cucumber which worked very well. I also added a second layer of rice paper because the single layer kept tearing. I brought the finished rolls to a party and they were a hit. All in all very delicious and I'll make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Was very spicy, tooo thick, and to bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Not impressed... Very salty. We tried baking the rolls... Didn't help. The peanut sauce was very salty too...and too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We love spring rolls but they can usually be a bit bland. I like the concept of seasoning the vegetables and grilling the shrimp to add flavor. That being said, I still favor using the traditional rice vermicelli noodles and a thin wedge of cucumber as part of the filling. Adding the noodles will stretch the filling ingredients to at least twice the number of rolls. It balances the intensity of the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I took this to a 4th of July picnic and it was a hit. I used a lot more napa cabbage, because once you toss it with the sauce it wilts and goes down in volume. I think next time I might try adding some diced cucumber or fresh beans sprouts to add a bit more texture to the fill. If you double or triple the recipe you don't have to do the same with the sauce there was more than enough. Someone in the group was allergic to peanuts and he thought they were great just plain. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made the recipe using some fresh perch I caught. I wrapped the mix in egg roll wrappers and then baked them @ 400 degrees for 10 minutes in the oven. I agree w/ cutting the teriyaki sauce in half. I also found the sauce to spicy for my taste, so cut the hot sauce in half. Overall, very good. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States