Shrimp Summer Rolls with Asian Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This is for aaaaaaaaaa, it looks like you rated this dish without even trying it. Before you comment on something being more adult, check out yourself first.... Many recipes may not agree with our taste and this is why we have the ability to adjust them to suit our taste... It dosen't take a professional chef or an "adult" to tweak a recipe to our liking.... Thank goodness we have sites like this and many thanks to the people who submit these recipes... His many Blessings always..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
The portions seemed totally bizarre - way too much liquid in the rolls. Meanwhile, the sauce was REALLY thick. Decent flavor once I adjusted with more cabbage & carrot, but I think I'll search for another recipe that requires less tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These were SO delicious and I'm anxious to make them again adding in a few other goodies (like avocado) to the mix. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the recipe as it stands is a bit off. As others have noted, the filling shrinks way down once you "toss" it and I ended up having to double it to fill 4 rice papers. I also followed the advice of many others before me and halved the Teriyaki across the board. Perfect advice. Do the hot sauce to your own taste too. If you like it hot, go with 2 T. If you want it mild, cut it back to 1 T. If you've never worked with rice paper sheets before, they are a cinch! Run under the faucet (both sides) and then place on a cutting board 1 or 2 at a time. Within a minute the paper softens up and gets pliable. Roll them as TIGHT as possible or they will fall apart when trying to eat later. The peanut sauce is AWESOME!! Mine came out way too thick so I doubled the sesame oil and also added 2-3 T. of water for the right texture. Again gauge the hot sauce to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made the recipe using some fresh perch I caught. I wrapped the mix in egg roll wrappers and then baked them @ 400 degrees for 10 minutes in the oven. I agree w/ cutting the teriyaki sauce in half. I also found the sauce to spicy for my taste, so cut the hot sauce in half. Overall, very good. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I took this to a 4th of July picnic and it was a hit. I used a lot more napa cabbage, because once you toss it with the sauce it wilts and goes down in volume. I think next time I might try adding some diced cucumber or fresh beans sprouts to add a bit more texture to the fill. If you double or triple the recipe you don't have to do the same with the sauce there was more than enough. Someone in the group was allergic to peanuts and he thought they were great just plain. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We love spring rolls but they can usually be a bit bland. I like the concept of seasoning the vegetables and grilling the shrimp to add flavor. That being said, I still favor using the traditional rice vermicelli noodles and a thin wedge of cucumber as part of the filling. Adding the noodles will stretch the filling ingredients to at least twice the number of rolls. It balances the intensity of the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Not impressed... Very salty. We tried baking the rolls... Didn't help. The peanut sauce was very salty too...and too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Was very spicy, tooo thick, and to bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This looked like a good recipe but something was missing. I added mung bean noodles and thin strips of cucumber which worked very well. I also added a second layer of rice paper because the single layer kept tearing. I brought the finished rolls to a party and they were a hit. All in all very delicious and I'll make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I just made the spring roll portion of this recipe. it was quite good. I had a package of regular shredded cabbage on hand so I used that instead of the napa cabbage. I was making a thai peanut chicken dish so I just dipped these in that sauce. I baked mine a bit and theyw ere good that way but i think tonight I'll try them as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States