Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is a good, easy recipe with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I am giving this a 5 star because it's easy, & I did some alterations to give it more flavor & sauce that was not too thin.. First I made my own shrimp stock w/ the shells from the shrimp I pilled boiled it on high for 10 minutes, added lemon juice and Old Bay Lemon Herb seasoning. I strained the stock poured in a big cup. I cut up green onions, fresh italian parsley, & I put a 1 teaspoon & half mince garlic. I put olive oil in the pan & a little butter to cut the cholesterol. I use more olive oil than butter. I poured in 1 cup 1/2 of stock brought it to a boil added some Kocher Salt , little black pepper to wake up the flavors, sprinkled in lemon pepper to taste, & more lemon juice.... I then added some more stock becauce I wanted a lot of sauce. I notice the sauce was to thin.. So I pour 2/3 cup of the hot stock & a tablespoon of corn starch I stired it in till dissolved then added to the simmering sauce & it thicken up to a good sauce. I then poured the shrimp in the sauce it cooked in 10minutes. I used medium & jumbo shrimp in the sauce. While the shrimp was cooking I then added the 1/3 cup of Moscato white wine... mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm this was so delicious served over whole grain thin spaghetti pasta. I ate a plate of it & did not feel heavy or weigh down.. I will make this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muscle Jock Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This turned out great. Very flavorful and easy to make. I used Whole Grain Angel Hair Pasta. Enjoyed by the whole family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie D.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Really great and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Need to add butter,just like chicken wings butter makes the sauce stick! this recipe was watery and bland. Use seafood stock or SHRIMP stock instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Our family loves this and so do I. It is a simple, quick cook for a super dish. I do sautee onions and garlic in butter first to improve the taste more like original Scampi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I loved the idea cause its low carb when you use wheat pasta--made some slight changes, added 1 small can of tomato sauce, 1/4 cup lemon juice cause I didnt have lemon-pepper, diced onion and let simmer for about 15 min before adding the shrimp. I also substitued cilantro for the parsley. It was excellent and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very disappointed. Not very flavorful and the sauce was WAY too thin. I definitely see why some of the other reviewers had to double or triple the garlic, lemon pepper, and onions before they could give it a good review. Even if you did that, it seems to me that the sauce wouldn't be thick enough to stick to the pasta or the shrimp anyway. By the time you doctored this up enough to be good, it would be a completely different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is a very easy and quick recipe but most of the reviews are right there is something missing. Its very bland and simple... I added the lemon juice, butter, extra garlic, etc but it was still plain the sause ends up as a traditional oil and butter flavor... Probably wont make again but didn't hurt to try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ihartmysailor
Home Town: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was so tasteless. There was nothing I could add to it that helped it out, my husband came home and tried making it better with no luck we ended up ordering take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States