Shrimp Scampi III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a very good recipe, but I can't bring myself to give 5 stars to any recipe that tells me to discard garlic (?!). I made the following changes which I think made it better (my entire picky family loved it). First of all, I marinated the peeled shrimp WITH the garlic, coursely chopped, and about a tbs. Italian seasoning, some fresh ground pepper, and 1/4 cup olive oil for about 2 hours. I sauteed the shrimp until barely pink (with the garlic, of course), and I added the parm. cheese with the wine, and simmered for about 5 minutes, then used about 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs to thicken. Came out great, sauce neither too thin nor thick, excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This was very tastie with a few variations that I made -- I sauteed the shrimp in 1/3 cup olive oil and 6 cloves of garlic for 5 minutes while my angel hair pasta was cooking. Then I removed the shrimp and added 1 cup of white wine,a few basil and parsley flakes, and fresh ground pepper. I simmered this for a few minutes and at the end I added a couple teaspoons of ground seasoned croutons (I put them in the blender). I added one teaspoon at a time because it really thickens quick. I poured this mixture over the cooked noodles and sprinkled with more of the ground croutons and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I was low on dinner ideas one night and low on ingredients as well. I just happened to have everything required for this so I thought I'd give it a try. It was seriously, AMAZING. I felt so accomplished serving this gourmet dish (which was secretly very easy). I did make some changes: I used a LOT more garlic and left it in rather than pulling it out, used spaghetti rather than angel hair, used chicken broth instead of wine, used Italian bread crumbs, doubled the sauce, and added some lemon juice. (Most of which were changes I had read in previous reviews). Adding the breadcrumbs slowly is a must. Thanks for this fun and simple recipe. I am happy to know I have something impressive to cook for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Great! Since I used precooked shrimp, it took about 15 minutes to make. I think next time I won't defrost the shrimp before adding it, so that it won't get as overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was good. I didn't discard the garlic...who would....YUMMY. I used fett. noodles instead of angel hair. I really liked the result. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Very good base recipe. Actually could have another half star (4.5). Agree with others about way too much bread crumbs. Added shallots, extra garlic and sliced portabello mushrooms. For more flavor, added fresh parsley, a bit of nutmeg and some lemon pepper seasoning. Still tasted like something was missing, although the guests all loved it - even took home the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Ok, YUM!! I have never made shrimp scampi before and this was really good! I had to make 2 changes as I did not have bread crumbs on hand (thought I did when I settled on this recipe) or white wine (don't drink it). I did have chicken broth on hand and subbed it for the wine and crushed up caeser croutons to replace the bread crumbs. I had leftovers for breakfast and lunch the following day--couldn't stop eating it!! We adore garlic so I could help myself from using about 6 gloves sliced. Very high in calories but tasty for a once in a while supper! Thanks for such a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
A wonderful recipe. Fast easy and delicious. My whole family loved it.I minced the garlic and left it in, and substitued chicken broth for the wine.Try it you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I minced the garlic and left it in. I crushed parmesan garlic croutons. I also added chopped parsley. It was delicious! It was fast and easy to cook. My family could not stop talking about how good the food was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
A very simple recipe for scampi Not at all enough Garlic and why would you discard it? Try using 7-10 cloves and mince1/4 cup of onion in the mix with some fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States