Shrimp Scampi III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
gave it a 3 cause my 9 year old liked it. way too much butter. plus the sauce thickened but i thought it was very "bready" and not at all what i want in my shrimp scampi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Naturally I made adjustments, but the base recipe was a great start. I used 2 sticks of butter, increased the wine to 1/2 cup, and I minced the garlic and didn't remove it. I added: 1 small onion almost minced, 2 TBS fresh parsley, 1 TBS chives, 1 TSP lemon or lime zest, 1 TBS lemon or lime juice. I used Fetachini and after it was cooked I drained it and added some butter so it wouldn't stick. In a large sauce pan, melt butter, saute onion until tender, remove onion. Add shrimp and garlic and cook until pink. Stir in white wine and return the onion. I then added the bread crumbs until the thickness was to my liking. I served the pasta and shrimp on the side so each person could serve themselves the amount desired. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was really good and tastes even better the next day. We added more shrimp, and used about 6 cloves of garlic. The garlic, however, seemed to lose some of its flavor in the cooking process. Will probably try adding more next time, and maybe even some garlic powder. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Trinidad, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
My entire family loved this dish! It was VERY easy and tasty. I did take two bits of advice from the many reviews and used less than half of the bread crumbs. Also, I did not throw out the garlic. For those who like their food a little spicier, red pepper flakes would be excellent. Will definitely keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolajune

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is a good basic scampi recipe. I did add a dash of lemon juice to mine. It made a big flavor difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
All I can say is yummy. This was so good I made bruschetta to go with it and it was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very Good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This dish is outstanding. I added a little chopped onion with the garlic. Quick prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a very good recipe, but I can't bring myself to give 5 stars to any recipe that tells me to discard garlic (?!). I made the following changes which I think made it better (my entire picky family loved it). First of all, I marinated the peeled shrimp WITH the garlic, coursely chopped, and about a tbs. Italian seasoning, some fresh ground pepper, and 1/4 cup olive oil for about 2 hours. I sauteed the shrimp until barely pink (with the garlic, of course), and I added the parm. cheese with the wine, and simmered for about 5 minutes, then used about 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs to thicken. Came out great, sauce neither too thin nor thick, excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
one word YUMMY...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States