Shrimp Scampi III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very good scampi recipe. I've made scampi before but not very well. What I did was add alot of garlic in the butter... sauteed and kept the garlic in. I used at least 6 cloves. Sauteed the shrimp added the white wine and then added some chicken broth because we like our pasta a little bit soupier as opposed to dry. Added a little less bread crumbs and also added some lemon juice. Used spaghetti because I didn't have any angel hair. Also added red pepper seeds to my own individual plate b/c I like it a little bit spicy. The key is to cook the shrimp for only a few minutes. The longer you cook it the toughter it gets. You can even under cook it a bit and it will continue to cook after you add it to the hot pasta. Sprinkle the whole thing with parmesan and it'll be perfect. My Mom puts her scampi in the broiler and then tosses it with the pasta. I didn't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was great. Followed recipe as written. Only change I made was used chicken broth instead of wine (did not have any used chicken broth as others reviews suggested) & did not disgard garlic Oh ya I added 6 gloves of garlic (just because we love it)and also just to make this a little bit healthy I used 4 tablespoons butter & 4 tablespoons can't believe it's not butter - they did not no the difference! Served with penne pasta & garlic bread. Yummmm, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I Love it! This recipe was so easy and tasted wonderful. I used 4 cloves garlic, fresh parmesan and served over fetuccini. Like others I also did not remove garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I'm not a huge shrimp fan, yet this was pretty tasty. Keep the garlic though! I minced up the garlic and left it in. I also like to add a little bit of freshly squeezed lemon if I have any lemons around. Any type of lemon seasoning works well though also. I have used "lemon & herb" to give it a more interesting flavor. Overall the recipe is a keeper! The white wine flavor is delicious in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was ok. It was good, but it didn't make me say mmmmmmmmm...... I think it needed more garlic (and I did not take mine out) and something else, not sure what. I will make again, but add a bit more seasoning, more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is a great scampi base. I added a little olive oil (tsp) with the butter, increased garlic to 4 or 5 cloves (I didn not remove from pan) squeezed half a lemon, used only 1 tbsp. of bread crumbs and added some parsley along with the parmesan cheese. My family loved it. Thanks MLT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
made this for a dinner party and it was a hit! i highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I have made several times, and made it for a dinner party. It turned out perfect each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I used more garlic (4 cloves) and no bread crumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This recipe was delicious! I made it with whole wheat pasta to make it a little healthier. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States