Shrimp Scampi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very, very good! The first few bites I thought the wine was a little overpowering, but as I kept eating, it all tasted wonderful. I did cut the breadcrumbs down quite a bit, just a light sprinkling. I also served it over thin spaghetti as I'm not a big fettucine fan. Absolutely delicious, thank you! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was fabulous! It was eaten so quickly, I didn't get a chance to get a photo to post! I am so impressed with this recipe. I have not had much success with cooking with wine in the past, but this was perfect! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
really good, simple and quick. although I made it simpler and quicker by skipping the baking part and just adding the wine and lemon juice to the pan right after adding the shrimp, wait 3-5 minutes (or just until pink), add a handful of the breadcrumbs, a little fresh tarragon, and done! (I can't stand overcooked shrimp) I also threw in some frozen peas to the cooking pasta right at the end for color. Probably took 30 minutes total (minus cleaning the shrimp!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunalady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Made this last night, followed others advise on the breadcrumb amount and just used afew tsps, otherwise this came out fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This recipe is great! I wouldn't change a thing except on the amount of breadcrumbs that are called for. Instead of scooping out a cup as the recipe calls for, you should just take tablespoon by tablespoon, sprinkling the breadcrumbs on until the shrimp are coated. A cup of breadcrumbs is too much. Otherwise, this recipe makes the best shrimp scampi my husband and I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
We did not care for this, my boyfriend, roommate, and I followed the recipe exactly. I think the problem was the bread crumbs so maybe leaving those out would have helped. We served the shrimp and pasta separately and ended up taking the pasta, adding parmesan cheese, salt and pepper and eating that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe that I turn to often. I've made adjustments too: a little more garlic because we love it, a little less breadcrumbs. I also sprinkle a liberal coat of parmesan cheese on top before baking, and turn the broiler on it for the last couple minutes so it's nice and bubbly and just starting to go brown. It's a great light meal that tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Tasty, but the breadcrumbs were way too overpowering and pasty. Next time I'll try with half the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I can not hardly rate this recipe. I had shrimp, garlic, oil and butter but not much else! I followed the directions but substituted Sprite for the Lemon Juice (mine had gone bad). Since I discovered I did not have bread crums, I had a few of those roasted Veggie crackers, I crushed those and used instead. It was very yummy even with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe was awful. There was way too much bread crumbs. The lemon and wine was strong. My family didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States