Shrimp Scampi Cheesecake Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
In addition to the shrimp, I added crabmeat. For this recipe I buy the $5 bag of frozen shrimp from Walmart...tastes great to me. I used regular Gouda, and also used mini phyllo cups instead of the puff pastry shells. I have made this recipe with the shells are there was 2/3 of the mixture still remaining. I also added a little lemon juice and zest. After a little tweeking, this appetizer is fantastic!! Everytime I make them, they ALL get devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia Robertson
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Wow, I couldn't wait to make these. Unfortunately, I couldn't find the puff shells, so I bought the sheets. Cut and pressed into small bundt cake pan. They came out fine, except I had 1/2 of the batter left. I found 2 small quiche dishes and used the rest of the pastry sheet, baked and filled, baked and enjoyed. I must say to those who do not care for alot of salt, to cut this in half. The gouda provides enough salt. Be sure to mince the onion too. I will make these again. Will see if they freeze and reheat well. Couldn't eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These were the hit of our party! They were absolutely delicious. I was asked to bring them to our next football get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
OMG, this was such a hit at my christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Wonderful!! I halved the recipe but used the full 1 lb. of shrimp. Used the mini cups but, as a personal preference, no onion or salt but generously sprinkled shrimp with Old Bay after cooking. Used Fat Free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of cream just to make me feel like I was saving calories. (Yeah, right!!) My husband isn't usually a fan of smoked gouda but he loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
VERY tasty, although I have to admit that I did season w/ every step rather than just waiting until the end to add salt. I also used phyllo cups as I was making these as appetizers for a party. I used 2 lbs. shrimp and only 8 oz. gouda and it tasted great. It makes a LOT - I probably only used 1/3 of it to fill 45 phyllo cups. I did, however, simply bake the rest in a 9X7 casserole and it worked perfectly - I just baked it til the top browned a little and it was great w/ crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Belgrade Lakes, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These were the best appetizer I've ever made! I did cut the recipe in half except for the shrimp. People couldn't stop eating them and they were all gone before I knew it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I hated the phillo dough so i just bought puff pastry shells and filled them with this yummy filling. Next time i will use cheddar cheese to bring down the cost of recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I make this in the small phyllo cups and always a HUGE hit! It makes a lot and freezes wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These are excellent! Great party appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States