Shrimp Scampi Cheesecake Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I make this for every party and people LOVE it. It's gone almost immediately. I did take the suggestions of other reviewers and use Phyllo Shells. It makes for the perfect appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
AMAZING! People accused me of buying these and didn't believe I made them! I also used the mini filo shells as many suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was a great find, however I am altering it the next time I make it. There is WAY to much cheese for the amount of shrimp. I am going to do the following: add another pound of shrimp, add a couple cans of real lump crab, add another onion and carmalize them, add a little more garlic, use one smoked gouda and one regular, and call this Shrimp Scampi Rangoon. I made this for Thanksgiving and put them in the phyllo shells I made in the mini muffin pans. I made 4 dozen and still have half of the mixture left. I used the other half of the mixture the next day. I poured it in a glass dish and baked it. I got a lot of compliments on both and several people asked for the recipe. I dont think there is enough meat in it. When I was filling my phyllo cups I was trying to put a shrimp peice in each cup and I found myself digging around in the mixture looking for them. All in all this was good. It does make a ton, but it saves well in the fridge. Looking forward to the next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Wonderful, when you don't have much time to impress, this recipe will save you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
These were good but next time I will use a different type of cheese. The smoked gouda was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
WOW! These were THE hit of my party! Everyone absolutely loved them & kept coming back for more! It does make a lot . . . I made 45 in mini phyllo cups, then baked some in a small pie plate to use as a dip and I still have about half of it left. I'm freezing the leftovers to use next week for my book club. I sure hope it freezes well! This is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My family loves this recipe and requests it every christmas eve. I always make it in individual little phillo cups (sometimes used for mini cheesecakes) instead of big pastry puffs. This way it's a simple little appeziter to pop while you mingle at a party. I found you can make the filling a day ahead to save time. ENOJOY this is fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
These are great. I have used both the phyllo cups and also the new mini puff pastry shells. I use half regular gouda and half smoked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Wowzers this is amazing. I've made it for 2 Christmas parties in a row. People can't get enough of it. There is waaaaay more filling than pastry cups, so like everyone says, either double the pastry or cut the filling quantity in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is a staple recipe for any of our holiday parties. I use the mini phyllo cups and have always got many requests for the recipe. It does make a lot but the mix freezes very well for several months. Well worth the effort and cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States