Shrimp Scampi Cheesecake Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This has got to be one of the best recipes...Great for the holidays or just having company...Also freezes nicely...I put mine into phyllo cups instead of shells...goes a lot further....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I thought this was a very rich recipe, but I loved it. This recipe makes A LOT, but I did freeze the batter and it tasted fine. I'm thinking you could probably cut the recipe in half. I used 4 pkgs mini phyllo cups for half the recipe and froze the rest and used as a hot dip with crackers when I needed it. I also don't think you need 16 oz. of Gouda. I believe I only used half of that and I couldn't find smoked. I did not used the onions or salt. The second time I made it I used a pound of shimp to half the batter recipe. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
If I could give this more then 5 stars, I would! These are heavenly!! I used mini phyllo cups and served as an appetizer instead of more of a first course and these disappeared faster then I could refill them!! You won't be disappointed with this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I skipped the puff pastry and baked the filling in a deep dish casserole--this recipe makes ALOT! Served it as a dip with crusty bread. Great for a clambake, 3 people asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
My family LOVED these. Not only was it easy to make, it freezes really well. It does cost a bit more than other appetizers - I only make it once a year - plus, family & friends rave about it. It is always a hit at family holiday functions. I too used the pre-cooked phyllo dough and just filled them up and heated them up in the over. It has become a family favorite for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Pretty expensive to make with the cheese & shrimp. I used puff pastry sheets and cut out mini cupcake sized shells...cooked the shells then stuffed them with the filling. With the original recipe I was able to make almost 60 appetizers. The whole process took two days -- too much time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I brought this as an appetizer to a family gathering, and although everyone enjoyed them, I didn't feel as though it was worth all the work and the money involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Took this to a family reunion with many great cooks around. They all raved about the taste. I did as others suggested and used phyllo dough to make small cups and filled. A lot of work this way, but I enjoy cooking and the work was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Oh. My. Goodness. Since I was taking these to a party, I did as other reviewers suggested and used mini phyllo cups to make 60 appetizers. (This is rather expensive to make because of the cheese and shrimp, so I skimped on the number of cups.) The phyllo dough I bought was already cooked, so I simply heated them with the filling in the oven for about 10 minutes. I still had plenty of filling left over for a cracker spread, but I should have bought more cups- it was hard enough keeping ourselves from eating them before we got there! If you've been looking for a rave-worthy recipe that's always the first to go at a gathering, this is it. Mine were gone in 20 minutes! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
This is fantastic. I used the small phyllo cups to make over 100 appetizers, baking for about 20 minutes (I am at high altitude). I used the entire pound of shrimp chopped into smaller pieces considering the smaller cups and did not place any on top. At a party of 40 people, this was THE hit item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States