Shrimp Scampi Cheesecake Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This has got to be one of the best recipes...Great for the holidays or just having company...Also freezes nicely...I put mine into phyllo cups instead of shells...goes a lot further....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I thought this was a very rich recipe, but I loved it. This recipe makes A LOT, but I did freeze the batter and it tasted fine. I'm thinking you could probably cut the recipe in half. I used 4 pkgs mini phyllo cups for half the recipe and froze the rest and used as a hot dip with crackers when I needed it. I also don't think you need 16 oz. of Gouda. I believe I only used half of that and I couldn't find smoked. I did not used the onions or salt. The second time I made it I used a pound of shimp to half the batter recipe. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
If I could give this more then 5 stars, I would! These are heavenly!! I used mini phyllo cups and served as an appetizer instead of more of a first course and these disappeared faster then I could refill them!! You won't be disappointed with this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I skipped the puff pastry and baked the filling in a deep dish casserole--this recipe makes ALOT! Served it as a dip with crusty bread. Great for a clambake, 3 people asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
My family LOVED these. Not only was it easy to make, it freezes really well. It does cost a bit more than other appetizers - I only make it once a year - plus, family & friends rave about it. It is always a hit at family holiday functions. I too used the pre-cooked phyllo dough and just filled them up and heated them up in the over. It has become a family favorite for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Pretty expensive to make with the cheese & shrimp. I used puff pastry sheets and cut out mini cupcake sized shells...cooked the shells then stuffed them with the filling. With the original recipe I was able to make almost 60 appetizers. The whole process took two days -- too much time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I brought this as an appetizer to a family gathering, and although everyone enjoyed them, I didn't feel as though it was worth all the work and the money involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Took this to a family reunion with many great cooks around. They all raved about the taste. I did as others suggested and used phyllo dough to make small cups and filled. A lot of work this way, but I enjoy cooking and the work was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Oh. My. Goodness. Since I was taking these to a party, I did as other reviewers suggested and used mini phyllo cups to make 60 appetizers. (This is rather expensive to make because of the cheese and shrimp, so I skimped on the number of cups.) The phyllo dough I bought was already cooked, so I simply heated them with the filling in the oven for about 10 minutes. I still had plenty of filling left over for a cracker spread, but I should have bought more cups- it was hard enough keeping ourselves from eating them before we got there! If you've been looking for a rave-worthy recipe that's always the first to go at a gathering, this is it. Mine were gone in 20 minutes! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
This is fantastic. I used the small phyllo cups to make over 100 appetizers, baking for about 20 minutes (I am at high altitude). I used the entire pound of shrimp chopped into smaller pieces considering the smaller cups and did not place any on top. At a party of 40 people, this was THE hit item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States