Shrimp Scampi Cheesecake Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made these in the prebaked fillo cups for two Christmas parties. At the one they ate every single morsel, but no comments. (Lots of people not a lot of food.) At the other party, ladies only, lots of food, lots of these leftover and still no comments about this recipe. I wasn't crazy about them either. Later I tried some of the unbaked leftovers (without the fillo cups) I had frozen as a dip. Weird eggy quiche like consistancy, although good flavor. I was not going to give up on this recipe, and I personally am not crazy about fillo and didn't want to use the puff pastry cups, so I took egg roll skins and cut them in quarters. Layered two squares opposite each in a flower pattern and put them in mini muffin tins. What a difference this "cheesecake" is in these. Very good and pretty this way. I felt the fillo took away from the taste - not enough filling to dough ratio and the egg roll wrappers just gave it a nice cup to be in with a little crunch with the "petals" sticking out the top. Baked at 350 for 10 minutes an they browned up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Great... I agree the scale is off, use either twice the pastry of 1/2 the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOW
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made these for a friend's birthday over the holidays last year and they were fantastic! I had to shoo my husband away from eating them all. They were very rich tasting but expensive as others have mentioned. So worth it though! I should note that I did not use the onions as we do not like onions and I would agree with everyone else to use the phyllo sheets and cut them smaller rather than the big phyllo cups. And yes, the name isn't accurate using "cheesecake" but the person submitting it probably had to call it something right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made these and used won ton wrappers with my mini muffin pans and they turned out fantastic. I used half smoked gouda and half regular gouda. I also used a 5 inch springform pan with a cracker crust and it was very tasty but the presentation wasn't the best. Next time I will just bake it in a dish and serve with crackers. TRY IT YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by einygav15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This is the perfect recipe for special occasions. I used regular gouda instead of smoked, and halved the recipe and still had tons left over. Next time I will probably quarter the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I also used the pre-made mini phillo dough shells. I thought this tasted great. My hubby and others were not as impressed....thought they were good, but not "to die for."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
These disappeared in minutes. They wanted to know where the rest of them were? They actually looked in the oven to see if there were more! I made them with mini cupcake pan and just 3 layers of phyllo dough (each layer brushed with melted butter/evoo combo) This will be at EVERY party I throw! I think I'd make it as a tart also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I made this for New Years Eve. Great recipe; smoked gouda a must; made way too much. I used the puff pastry in the freezer section (6 per pkg), which made them a meal. I'll look for the smaller appetizer sized ones next time. I cut the recipe in half and I still had way too much. I put the rest in a container, heated it up the next night and served it with bread (bagette). Yum. Thank you...this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlechien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this to bring to a New Year's party and they were a huge hit!! I did make a few changes, though. I used regular Gouda, not smoked and sprinkled a little cayenne pepper over top before baking. I used the mini fillo dough cups from the freezer section of the grocery store and they were perfect! I know I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Wonderful! I fixed this for New Years Eve it was the hit of the night. I will definitly make this again. I useed regular Gouda as some of the reviewers suggested and put garnished the puff pastry version with 2 large shrimp each. I had enough left over to do 30 small phylo cups to bring to another get together the next day. They were a hit all over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States