Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Made this recipe as-is. It was really good, but a bit heavy on the wine as some of the reviews said. And I liked the idea of putting some broccoli or green veggie to make it a healthier version. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
We lived in Italy for eight years. I'm sure that someone probably has pointed this out in all these reviews, but SCAMPI is SHRIMP in Italian. Thus, SHRIMP-SHRIMP. Redundant. I just wish all the restaurants and recipes who popularized "Shrimp Scampi" had not messed this up. Too late, I know. Also, I never saw Parmesan or any other cheese cooked or served with fish. Maybe somewhere? We lived in Tuscany. When Americans would insist on Parmesan on fish pastas or oil and garlic pastas, waiters in restaurants would try to convince them that the two were "antipatico" - not sympathetic when used together. Eventually, if the person insisted, they would shrug and graciously bring the Parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I tried this recipe twice, as written. I found it needed less butter and less wine. The saute sauce was too watery and did not reduce well with frozen medium or large shrimp.Next time I will try fresh wild shrimp. I prefered 4 large cloves of garlic and the next time after reducing I will add a touch of heavy cream to give the sauce more body and make it less watery. I also found that it needed more shrimp and pasta. The basics of the recipe was good but I would use 3/4 C wine with 1/3C good quality grass fed salted Irish butter and one pound of pasta, 2 pounds of shrimp,preferably spaghetti or Linguini and 1/2 cup of heavy cream. and about 2-3T of Italian Parsley. I like chardonnay for the wine. Serve with a crusty french bread and perhaps a side salad.In general the flavours were good, Cook the shrimp with the shells and tails on for fuller flavor in the pan, remove with a slotted spatula remove shells and tails and rejoin with the sauce and pasta.Toss with the parsley. Also serve the wine with the meal. Generally a very nice meal. My version serves 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Excellent. I had no white wine so used 1/2 C Parmesan. Less sauce, but fine flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Cooked de-tailed shrimp in butter and garlic. Added lemon juice, white wine, asparagus and mushrooms. Let cook for a bit, added some pepper and parm cheese. Next time we will put on pasta or use half the pasts, but it was even amazing left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJMARGARITA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Was great! Topped it with a little Italian 4C bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Flanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Didn't have any white wine so used medium dry sherry. It gave the dish a wonderful nutty flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I followed recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I didn't change a thing it was so good ! No leftovers thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Inhave made this meal several times with and without the wine...always a hit, even with changes to whether I use fettucini, linguine, or thin spagetti! If you don't love it..you are doing something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States