Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I had beautiful fresh Gulf shrimp, wanted something quick for dinner, so I thought why not try a new recipe for shrimp scampi? This recipe has too much butter and too much wine which ends up making it watery and dilutes the flavor (even the garlic flavor was pushed to the background). I really don't think you need 1/2 cup of butter for 1 pound of shrimp. IMO the only way this might work is to modify ingredient amounts or to remove the shrimp from the pan after sautéing and then reduce the liquid and intensify the flavor. And where's the lemon, never made shrimp scampi without fresh lemon juice? I just added some lemon wedges to the plate to be used at the table. I really don't like changing a recipe too much first time through, and I know this recipe has had good reviews. However, I would suggest that you really look at the ingredient amounts in this recipe before heading to the stove. The fresh shrimp itself was so good that it salvaged the meal, but honestly, this was a huge disappointment. Sorry, no tweaking for me, just movin' on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Easy and delicious. I used scallops and like other reviewers added lemon juice and a little lemon zest along with salt and pepper. I sauted the scallops but then took them out to let the wine reduce and then added them and the pasta in. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Made this recipe as-is. It was really good, but a bit heavy on the wine as some of the reviews said. And I liked the idea of putting some broccoli or green veggie to make it a healthier version. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I tried this recipe twice, as written. I found it needed less butter and less wine. The saute sauce was too watery and did not reduce well with frozen medium or large shrimp.Next time I will try fresh wild shrimp. I prefered 4 large cloves of garlic and the next time after reducing I will add a touch of heavy cream to give the sauce more body and make it less watery. I also found that it needed more shrimp and pasta. The basics of the recipe was good but I would use 3/4 C wine with 1/3C good quality grass fed salted Irish butter and one pound of pasta, 2 pounds of shrimp,preferably spaghetti or Linguini and 1/2 cup of heavy cream. and about 2-3T of Italian Parsley. I like chardonnay for the wine. Serve with a crusty french bread and perhaps a side salad.In general the flavours were good, Cook the shrimp with the shells and tails on for fuller flavor in the pan, remove with a slotted spatula remove shells and tails and rejoin with the sauce and pasta.Toss with the parsley. Also serve the wine with the meal. Generally a very nice meal. My version serves 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Excellent. I had no white wine so used 1/2 C Parmesan. Less sauce, but fine flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Cooked de-tailed shrimp in butter and garlic. Added lemon juice, white wine, asparagus and mushrooms. Let cook for a bit, added some pepper and parm cheese. Next time we will put on pasta or use half the pasts, but it was even amazing left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJMARGARITA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Was great! Topped it with a little Italian 4C bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Flanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Didn't have any white wine so used medium dry sherry. It gave the dish a wonderful nutty flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I followed recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I didn't change a thing it was so good ! No leftovers thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States