Shrimp, Sausage, and Fish Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Really tasty! I substituted okra for tomatoes and added a lot more of the cajon seasoning for spice. Topped with diced jalapeños and it was wonderful. Does the recipe call for cooked rice or dry? I cooked the rice first before adding to the pot. I also used only 3 cups of broth for a thicker stew. Next time I will dice the andouille sausage into smaller pieces so that each spoonful has the delicious bits. I choose to add the codfish and it very mild and had a nice texture. Definitely making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I follwed the directions as written with exception of adding more for extra portions and it was ooh la la. I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
My family has made this twice, and both times it has been fabulously tasty. We made it once with kielbasa instead of andouille, and it was just as good, with a slightly milder but yummy flavor that my small sons appreciated. Thanks for the recipe! (Oh, and try with seafood broth instead of chicken broth! Enhances the seafood flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
So easy and delicious. I made mine spicer by adding more hot sauce (sriacha) and peppers. Made a double batch to last a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was my first time ever making jambalaya. I was so impressed with how this came out, it's probably one of my new favorite recipes. It's even better the next day heated up. My boyfriend loves anything creole flavored and he was blown away by the flavor in this dish. The only thing I changed was I added about a pound each of shrimp and cod, because I love them. Thank you for sharing this, it is tremendous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I looked at this recipe and thought, wow, this looks complicated because of all the ingredients, but it wasn't as bad as I thought! Actually, it was pretty easy and tasted fantastic! Unfortunately we couldn't find andouille sausage, but we used chorizo instead. We also like a bit of heat added so we used some hot sauce after to spice it up. We are definitely adding this to our recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
i've made this once before, subbed the fish for pan fried scallops to put on top at the end... turned out amazingly. Making this again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
So good it made me cry tears of joy. Seriously though, do the prep work before hand and you will save lots of time. I followed the recipe exactly as described (minus the diced tomatoes) and it came out perfect. The cod kind of disappeared and was absorbed into the jambalaya. I recommend jumbo shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Killer Recipe. I never did a jambalaya before and was craving shrimp. Couldn't find Andouille sausage so had to settle for Chorizo since this was last minute, and also didn't add white fish this time around (next time for sure). Turned out amazing, everyone really loved it. It seems no matter how much shrimp you put in, it's never enough. So be generous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kberi
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
If I could give it more stars I would! I had some andouille sausage to use and thought I'd give this a try. I used halibut instead of cod and brown rice instead of white. I also added some shredded chicken breast at the end. This was fantastic! My husband loved it, says it's better than the creole restaurant we usually go to for this kind of food. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States