Shrimp, Sausage, and Fish Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Just a few suggestions to improve the dish a little: You shouldn't need to add a fat to saute the sausage as it already has enough. I prefer a pure pork smoked sausage for this dish, but recognize that if you are not in south Louisiana, it may be difficult to obtain. Try an independent meat market and you may get lucky. I highly recommend stirring the raw rice in before adding your liquid--stir until every grain is coated with the oil from cooking the meats and seasonings; this will make the rice less sticky in the finished product. It is at this stage I would add in any seafood so that those flavors can mingle before the rice gets completely cooked. (After cooking rice for 25-30 minutes, there's no way you will get anything to "boil" again as stated in step 8.) Next, even "red" or Creole jambalaya is not usually this red; I have never heard of using tomato paste in place of tomatoes in jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Wonderful!!! Husband loved it. I substituted the fish with cut up, cooked chicken to suit our tastes. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This recipe was delicious. Not a bite left over! We like things a little spicier, so I added red pepper flakes. Glad I tried it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Really tasty! I substituted okra for tomatoes and added a lot more of the cajon seasoning for spice. Topped with diced jalapeños and it was wonderful. Does the recipe call for cooked rice or dry? I cooked the rice first before adding to the pot. I also used only 3 cups of broth for a thicker stew. Next time I will dice the andouille sausage into smaller pieces so that each spoonful has the delicious bits. I choose to add the codfish and it very mild and had a nice texture. Definitely making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I follwed the directions as written with exception of adding more for extra portions and it was ooh la la. I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
My family has made this twice, and both times it has been fabulously tasty. We made it once with kielbasa instead of andouille, and it was just as good, with a slightly milder but yummy flavor that my small sons appreciated. Thanks for the recipe! (Oh, and try with seafood broth instead of chicken broth! Enhances the seafood flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
So easy and delicious. I made mine spicer by adding more hot sauce (sriacha) and peppers. Made a double batch to last a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was my first time ever making jambalaya. I was so impressed with how this came out, it's probably one of my new favorite recipes. It's even better the next day heated up. My boyfriend loves anything creole flavored and he was blown away by the flavor in this dish. The only thing I changed was I added about a pound each of shrimp and cod, because I love them. Thank you for sharing this, it is tremendous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I looked at this recipe and thought, wow, this looks complicated because of all the ingredients, but it wasn't as bad as I thought! Actually, it was pretty easy and tasted fantastic! Unfortunately we couldn't find andouille sausage, but we used chorizo instead. We also like a bit of heat added so we used some hot sauce after to spice it up. We are definitely adding this to our recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
i've made this once before, subbed the fish for pan fried scallops to put on top at the end... turned out amazingly. Making this again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States