Shrimp, Sausage, and Fish Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was a wonderful dinner. The only thing I left out was cod, as I did not have it on hand. I felt that sausage and shrimp were sufficient for a good flavor. My husband loved this dish and ate it several times over the week, until it was gone. The only thing I might do different next time is cut out the hot sauce or try something more bland. We are older and cannot tolerate very hot spicy food anymore. Other than that, it was great. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made this recipe for my wife's 74th birthday, and it turned out great. Forgot to add the parsley :), but otherwise did it by the recipe. The rice was perfect, and the shrimp were tender. The spice level was good for just about everyone. The andouille sausage aroma filled the house, and had our guests sniffing the air in anticipation when they walked in the door. Thanks to Baron for a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Very good recipe. I changed a few things and made it spicier, but the spirit of the dish remained. It really took the creole to heart with elements of Italian and Spanish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was awesome, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoflorida

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very tasty dish; however the bottom of the pan started burning 22 minutes after adding the rice. So I advise a little more stock or possible it was that I used basmati long grain rice instead of medium grain. Anyway the dish was good and I lived in New Orleans for seventen years- so I know jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was really good and I'm adding it to my recipe box before I forget which one it was :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Just a few suggestions to improve the dish a little: You shouldn't need to add a fat to saute the sausage as it already has enough. I prefer a pure pork smoked sausage for this dish, but recognize that if you are not in south Louisiana, it may be difficult to obtain. Try an independent meat market and you may get lucky. I highly recommend stirring the raw rice in before adding your liquid--stir until every grain is coated with the oil from cooking the meats and seasonings; this will make the rice less sticky in the finished product. It is at this stage I would add in any seafood so that those flavors can mingle before the rice gets completely cooked. (After cooking rice for 25-30 minutes, there's no way you will get anything to "boil" again as stated in step 8.) Next, even "red" or Creole jambalaya is not usually this red; I have never heard of using tomato paste in place of tomatoes in jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Wonderful!!! Husband loved it. I substituted the fish with cut up, cooked chicken to suit our tastes. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This recipe was delicious. Not a bite left over! We like things a little spicier, so I added red pepper flakes. Glad I tried it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Really tasty! I substituted okra for tomatoes and added a lot more of the cajon seasoning for spice. Topped with diced jalapeños and it was wonderful. Does the recipe call for cooked rice or dry? I cooked the rice first before adding to the pot. I also used only 3 cups of broth for a thicker stew. Next time I will dice the andouille sausage into smaller pieces so that each spoonful has the delicious bits. I choose to add the codfish and it very mild and had a nice texture. Definitely making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States