Shrimp, Sausage, and Fish Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I almost followed the recipe exactly. I omitted the celery, because I don't like it and used extra long grain white rice. I ended up having to add an additional cup of broth, because of the larger grain- no biggie. My husband loves it and is requesting it is added to the dinner rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
So good! Made it with my family one night, now it's a tradition. Costco sells a shellfish variety pack that we like to add. Mmmmmm mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious recipe. It is now on our current dinner cycle and the kids LOVE it. My son hates veggies, but he eats this up like it's McDonald's! Delicious and nutritious. I can't thank you enough for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I have 3 teenage boys and one teenage girl and a husband who doesn't like veggies. But this recipe was a huge hit, fed the ravenous appetites of the kids and my husband even liked it, he picked out the onions and tomatoes. We had a lot left over too and it is a very tasty leftover. Not to spicy just enough heat. Will definitely be on the menu again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great dish. Makes a ton of food and freezes well. I didn't find andouille so I used spicy Italian pork sausage instead - turned out great. I used langoustine tails instead of shrimp because that's what I found freshest at the store. Cod isn't my favorite fish so I might skip it next time and focus on the sausage/shrimp combo. Also, I had to add almost two cups of water before adding the fish and seafood...it was drying out too fast and the rice got a little too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
One word. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was amazing! I dare say I cannot cook, even when I closely follow recipes, but this was so easy and delicious I will definitely make it again. It was a big hit for my dinner guests and as a potluck offering. I substituted bay scallops for cod fish and because I love shrimp I used a whole pound instead of 3/4 and it was great. I used spicy chorizo sausage but next time I'll track down the andouille. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wonderful ! I added smoked paprika, paprika, turmeric and cayenne pepper, I still found it a little to bland, but that is ok, I can always ad in my bowl, my kids loved it. Very easy, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I have had jambalaya in a few restaurants, and I have always wanted to make my own. I added more black pepper and more cajun, because I like a good hard kick. I also added some cayenne pepper into the shrimp, because again I like the spice kick. The recipe was very good. My wife and I loved it, the kids, not so much, but they would prefer hamburger helper...so enough said. I added the rice on very low heat, in fact as low as it can go. The broth evaporated within 5 minutes and the rice was not even kind of cooked. I had to add two cups of water to give the rice a chance to cook and again the water was gone and the rice was still not quite cooked. I kept it covered and undisturbed. Not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elysia & Dominick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was a wonderful dinner. The only thing I left out was cod, as I did not have it on hand. I felt that sausage and shrimp were sufficient for a good flavor. My husband loved this dish and ate it several times over the week, until it was gone. The only thing I might do different next time is cut out the hot sauce or try something more bland. We are older and cannot tolerate very hot spicy food anymore. Other than that, it was great. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States