Shrimp, Sausage, and Fish Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
For Elysia & Dominick; Not sure why you ran out of broth. Did you drain the tomatoes before you added them as I do not. Glad you liked the recipe. Some rice takes more liquid than others, still, it sounds like you had a significant problem but did a good job to work around it. I always have extra broth available when I make this dish as sometimes I need to add some. Thanks for trying the dish. Baron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Perfect, the recipe in my mind was exactly this, thanks for writing it down for me. Fresh tomatoes (seeded) certainly can't hurt. 1/2 cup of sliced okra didn't hurt either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My husband is a big jambalaya fan, and this recipe turned out perfectly. I often have problems getting the rice to cook correctly in my usual recipe, but I agree with the reviewer who described this dish as "creamy." I did not have shrimp on hand, so I used 1-1/2 lb. of cod instead of 3/4 lb. My husband didn't care, as long as he got his andouille sausage! The spice level was perfect for my kids, but if you like it hot, you may want to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Wow! This was to die for!!! I made it extra spicy with extra chili powder, used brown rice, and a little less butter (this has so much flavor I didn't need the extra calories for the taste). My husband and I absolutely LOVED this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My husband loved it. I didn't have a heavy bottom pot, so I ended up needing to put in 8 cups of chicken broth instead of 4. I reduced the pepper to 1/4 tsp and it was still SPICEY. I might reduce the Cajun spice to 1 tsp next time. And I might try Hillshire farms smoked turkey sausage instead of andouille sausage. My husband told me not to make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is the best jambalaya recipe I've tried! Have already made it twice and rice comes out perfect each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Excellent recipe! I had to stir the rice all the time because it was trying to burn even on a medium to small heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kberi
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
If I could give it more stars I would! I had some andouille sausage to use and thought I'd give this a try. I used halibut instead of cod and brown rice instead of white. I also added some shredded chicken breast at the end. This was fantastic! My husband loved it, says it's better than the creole restaurant we usually go to for this kind of food. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Killer Recipe. I never did a jambalaya before and was craving shrimp. Couldn't find Andouille sausage so had to settle for Chorizo since this was last minute, and also didn't add white fish this time around (next time for sure). Turned out amazing, everyone really loved it. It seems no matter how much shrimp you put in, it's never enough. So be generous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
So good it made me cry tears of joy. Seriously though, do the prep work before hand and you will save lots of time. I followed the recipe exactly as described (minus the diced tomatoes) and it came out perfect. The cod kind of disappeared and was absorbed into the jambalaya. I recommend jumbo shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States