Shrimp, Sausage, and Fish Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missee58
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very Good... This was very simple and so tastey. I made it just as the recipe states, except I used long grain rice. NOTE: Be careful after adding the rice and waiting 30-45 minutes, mine started to stick to the bottom. A Dutch-oven might be a better method of cooking if you don't have a very thick bottom pot. I added some heat to it just before eating and it was even better (My own preference) my wife and daughter don't like the hot spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Great recipe. Do the prepping work ahead of time and the recipe will come together easily. I made it exactly as the recipe calls for. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I wanted to make this as written because it didn't have many reviews, but looked like a good recipe. It was very good! I did use brown rice, so I had to add another 1/2 cup of broth. I chose to wait and put the sausage back in with the shrimp, and I kept it covered the entire time, just because the rice I have takes longer to cook. I also added another 1/2 teaspoon of cajun seasoning because I like the heat, but other than that I followed the recipe. I really liked that it almost had a creaminess to it, and I served it with buttermilk cornbread muffins from this site. Don't let the list of ingredients fool you - this was super easy and didn't take as long as it states. I will definitely make this again, Thanks Baron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is a fantastic jambalaya recipe. I used seafood broth instead of chicken broth. Ironically, the fresh Atlantic Cod, although "optional", was my favorite part - it was chewy and flaky and chunky and absorbed the flavor. The order in which this is prepared is perfect. A dash of red pepper flakes certainly doesn'y hurt, and if you prefer cilantro over parsley that's good too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This is a great recipe! I made a few changes to mine.. I cooked the rice separately and added a couple cups of okra. Didn't have regular stewed tomatoes, so I I used chile flavored can I had on hand and it worked out well too. Nice and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My husband is a big jambalaya fan, and this recipe turned out perfectly. I often have problems getting the rice to cook correctly in my usual recipe, but I agree with the reviewer who described this dish as "creamy." I did not have shrimp on hand, so I used 1-1/2 lb. of cod instead of 3/4 lb. My husband didn't care, as long as he got his andouille sausage! The spice level was perfect for my kids, but if you like it hot, you may want to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
For Elysia & Dominick; Not sure why you ran out of broth. Did you drain the tomatoes before you added them as I do not. Glad you liked the recipe. Some rice takes more liquid than others, still, it sounds like you had a significant problem but did a good job to work around it. I always have extra broth available when I make this dish as sometimes I need to add some. Thanks for trying the dish. Baron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Wow! This was to die for!!! I made it extra spicy with extra chili powder, used brown rice, and a little less butter (this has so much flavor I didn't need the extra calories for the taste). My husband and I absolutely LOVED this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Perfect, the recipe in my mind was exactly this, thanks for writing it down for me. Fresh tomatoes (seeded) certainly can't hurt. 1/2 cup of sliced okra didn't hurt either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States