Shrimp Red Thai Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I liked this recipe as a starting off point. I agree with some of the other reviews -- the Thai style curry is better if you add to it. I added: 1/2 a green and 1/2 a yellow pepper cubed; small onion chopped; 3 cloves garlic; 1/2 tsp. ginger (finely diced). Before adding the coconut milk as per the recipe I sautéed the onion, garlic and ginger as well as the hot peppers from the recipe in peanut oil. Then I went to step 1 of the original recipe. Other additions: small fistful of chopped cilantro and 1/2 a lime squeezed into the sauce and stirred up just before serving. Keep the full amount of coconut milk. The wetness of it is part of what makes it more authentically Thai seeming. If I hadn't had to dress the recipe up a bit to make it a bit more tasty I'd have given it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very good, but we made some modifications, and I did not think it was spicy at all as indicated in a couple of the reviews. We added bell pepper and snap pea pods to give it a little more variety in the flavor. I would add the pea pods sooner than the shrimp next time - they were cooked through, but still a little crunchy for my husband. We also made oriental noodles and stirred those in at the end, which helped soak up the sauce. I used lite coconut milk based on another review and it was the perfect consistency with far less calories. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Simple to make ,easy steps,I added 1 cup of water to ever can of coconut milk,and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeCat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Really good, really easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Good taste. Substituted 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and added 3 Tbsp. flour to thicken the sauce. Served with crushed pineapple. Would add English cucumber and/or mango chunks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Good for a very simple basic recipe! I added ginger, lemongrass, and sweet potato. I URGE everyone who is making a thai curry recipe to try adding chunks of sweet potato, it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
OMG! Simply delish! Only 4 stars as I had to alter based on other reviews. I only used one can of coconut milk, garnished with sliced green onions and basil (cilantro would have been preferable, but I didn't have any) and used my own homemade red curry paste. A perfect base for a variety of uses -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was just okay for me. As per other reviews, it was WAY too much coconut milk. Flavor was okay too. I didn't think it had much spice, but not bad. If I had spent more time doctoring it up, it probably would have been better. I did add 2 green onions, a little bit of baby corn, and some broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I used red and green peppers to give it color and body. The people I cooked it for thought it was outstanding. I even got the thumbs up from a friend who is thai. Its very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was a delicious starting point for us! We're moving in just over a week, so we're in a mad dash to clean out the fridge and cabinets--and doctoring this recipe fit the bill. We added frozen vegetables (broccoli, peppers, onions), lime juice, a bay leaf, ginger, cilantro, and a touch of brown sugar. We served it over jasmine rice (cooked in chicken broth) with slivered almonds on top. It turned out just beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States