Shrimp Red Thai Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This basic recipe is kind of bland - add 1/2 cup of condenced chicken or vegetable broth and add two cups of fresh veggies also makes this much better (try red bell peppers, carrots, broccoli, mushrooms).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
Great Recipe for a busy lifestyle! Takes little time and effort to prepare and the outcome is delicious. I didn't have fish sauce so just added some salt and one time I used beef instead of prawns. I also made the sauce thicker with corn starch. If you have the basic ingredients in stock this is a recipe to use if you get unexpected dinner guests and you need to make something quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Hubby and I are big fans of curry. Admittedly we like more "complex" flavours, so I added ginger, cilantro, lemongrass and freshly squeezed lime juice. However...this is really quick, easy and really quite flavorful. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Too spicy for me I also added onions green peppers and mushrooms to the sauce and the sauce was very luquidy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
2 TBSP red curry paste is way too much! Maybe a missprint and should be 2 tsp??? And I even took other members advice and cut it down to 1 TBSP. My husband who LOVES hot and spicey thought it was too hot! Also found it not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMIMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chetek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I used light coconut milk and a little cornstarch to thicken. I also didn't have a red chili pepper so used 1 tsp. of ground red pepper. This was served with jasmine rice at a party and there were requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
The 2 cans of coconut milk that the recipe called for was way too much. Beware of how much coconut milk you use. Secondly, the one chili pepper I added made the recipe flaming hot and practically impossible to eat. I ended up having to dilute the recipe with a lot of water. Even with all the added water, it was too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Good recipe, however I guess I used too much fish sauce because it came out salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This was very tasty and easy, but HOT! I had to go to two supermarkets to find the red curry paste, but I'm glad I found it. Publix supermarket carries it, if you live in an area where that chain exists. I added yellow and green bell pepper, would probably add more veggies next time. I'll also reduce the red curry paste, probably by half. I noticed a recipe on the bottle called for 1 T red curry paste to 1 can coconut milk, while this calls for double that amount! Overall, a great recipe and a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
BLAND!!!!! After reading the rave reviews about this recipie I couldn't believe how bad this tasted. There was barely any flavor or spice in the sauce. I added asparagus, yellow squash and broccoli and used lite coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States