Shrimp Red Thai Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was a delicious starting point for us! We're moving in just over a week, so we're in a mad dash to clean out the fridge and cabinets--and doctoring this recipe fit the bill. We added frozen vegetables (broccoli, peppers, onions), lime juice, a bay leaf, ginger, cilantro, and a touch of brown sugar. We served it over jasmine rice (cooked in chicken broth) with slivered almonds on top. It turned out just beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Bland, but qick. I've found, when using peppers, one can never tell the spiciness of the dish until tasted. Therefore, if you you do not care for a lot of heat, start with half the amount called for. For my family we start with the amount called for and go up from there!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Using other reviewers' suggestions, I added vegetables. I omitted the fresh red chili pepper because it seemed like it would make the dish too spicy. I used 1 can of coconut milk, 2 tbsp. red Thai curry paste, 1 tbsp. fish sauce, 1 lb. medium raw shrimp. I started brown rice in the rice cooker, then began chopping and slicing: 1 black bell pepper, 2 small carrots, 2 celery stalks, 1 head broccoli, 1 inch piece of ginger (grated), celery leaves, 3 green onions, and 2 small cans mushrooms. Once the liquid mixture became hot, I let the broccoli cook by itself for a few minutes before adding the shrimp and other vegetables to the mixture. When I removed the wok from heat, I added coursely chopped pineapple and cucumber, along with a splash of lime juice, and served the mixture over brown rice. The flavor is mild, not the least bit spicy, and pleasing. For a round-2 meal, I may add chicken broth to turn it into a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah E Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This has a great taste, but is a bit bland. I added veggies (zucchini, onions and red pepper) as well as ginger, cilantro and salt. I'm excited to taste it tomorrow - I hope other reviewers are correct that it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great recipe the only thing I would add is 1 Tbs Lemon Juice(or 3 Kaffir leaves if you can find them) and 2 Tbs Peanut sauce(or 3 Tbs Peanut Butter works well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
added more curry, onions, some cut up broccoli stalk for crunch, garlic.. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I added yellow and red sweet peppers and plenty of fresh lime juice and fresh cilantro. The recipe calls for too much coconut milk in my opinion. It wasn't very good. I wouldn't make this recipe again. I'm sure there are better coconut shrimp curry recipes than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Thank you MitchnSteve - awesome basic recipe. I tweaked mine a bit per some reviews. My husband and I love thai food. I got 5 stars - so I am passing it along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
It was sooo yummy! Im a huge fan of curry and my family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a good base for this dish, but I too changed to suit my tastes... I used lite coconut milk, but will use regular from now on. It imparts a thicker texture and flavor than the lite version. I also used sweet red and yellow peppers, and added bamboo shoots and fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States