Shrimp Po' Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I'm rating this recipe on everything, but the preparation of the shrimp because I used some frozen breaded shrimp that I had in the freezer instead. This was VERY GOOD! We absolutely loved the sauce, though I couldn't for the life of me find the Ponzu Lime, so I just squeezed some fresh lime juice in there and added a dash of Kikkoman soy sauce. The combination of the breaded shrimp with the garlicky, buttery rolls and the super spiciness of the sauce made this sandwich a winner, and one I will be making again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
It was wonderful. This was the first Shrimp Po'boy I have ever made just as good as some of the resturants make it. Definately go with the French rolls, we only had a random type of sub rolls. We did not get to use the Panko Bread Crumbs (did not have any) and we just used regular lime juice since it was all we had and that worked out great. The remoulade sauce was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is a really good recipe for Po Boys. I didn't change a thing...it was perfect and the sauce was delicious, too. It's a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I thought they were yummy but I didnt have the proper rolls. My kids even ate it but they were just as happy to eat the shrimp by themselves! 5 and 6 year old boys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
We really love po' boys and this was an excellent recipe. We followed all of the directions but I used garlic paste and horseradish sauce instead of actual horserashish or chopped garlic since that is all I had but it seemed the right consistancy and tasted awesome anyway. the shrimp was good too, it needs the creole seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Fantastic! I did halve the cayenne and next time I will add some salt to the Panko and/or flour mixture on the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Fantastic! Shrimp was so crispy, flavorful, moist and tender. The Remoulade sauce was amazing and I will be using the sauce recipe for other foods! My family is on a mission to make at least 2-4 new recipes a month instead of eating out and I am glad my husband picked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Wow, this recipe rocked! I think it compares to Coops on Bourbon Street!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Fantastic! I used frozen fried shrimp to save time. I added green onions and extra cayenne to the remoulade. I'm adding this to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Great recipe. I didn't change much of anything in the original recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States