Shrimp Po' Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
We really love po' boys and this was an excellent recipe. We followed all of the directions but I used garlic paste and horseradish sauce instead of actual horserashish or chopped garlic since that is all I had but it seemed the right consistancy and tasted awesome anyway. the shrimp was good too, it needs the creole seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I'm rating this recipe on everything, but the preparation of the shrimp because I used some frozen breaded shrimp that I had in the freezer instead. This was VERY GOOD! We absolutely loved the sauce, though I couldn't for the life of me find the Ponzu Lime, so I just squeezed some fresh lime juice in there and added a dash of Kikkoman soy sauce. The combination of the breaded shrimp with the garlicky, buttery rolls and the super spiciness of the sauce made this sandwich a winner, and one I will be making again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I thought they were yummy but I didnt have the proper rolls. My kids even ate it but they were just as happy to eat the shrimp by themselves! 5 and 6 year old boys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was excellent, and one of the few recipes I really think is 5 star AS IS. I love the idea of making the French bread into garlic bread and thought that was a great touch. I followed the directions to a tee and wouldn't change anything except perhaps adding more creole seasoning to the flour mixture and 1-1.5 lbs of shrimp is PLENTY. I was able to find the Ponzu sauce in the Asian section of Safeway, but for those that can't it's basically watered down soy sauce with lime and a touch of sugar (as indicated on the ingredients list and this is what it tastes like). I used one loaf of french bread, assembled the sandwich and then cut into 4 pieces. Served with cajun fries and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is the best shrimp po boy sandwich I have ever had! Its success is mainly due to the awesome remoulade sauce. I think I could have used a little extra creole seasoning in the flour to punch up the flavor in the shrimp a little bit. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
It was wonderful. This was the first Shrimp Po'boy I have ever made just as good as some of the resturants make it. Definately go with the French rolls, we only had a random type of sub rolls. We did not get to use the Panko Bread Crumbs (did not have any) and we just used regular lime juice since it was all we had and that worked out great. The remoulade sauce was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is my new favorite allrecipes recipe!! The recipe is perfect and the only thing that I chose to adjust is to use the small popcorn shrimp instead of the jumbo kind. FYI, I found the Kikkoman Ponzu Lime at an Asian market because it is difficult to find in your average grocery store. My 3 year old gobbled it up. I highly recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Fantastic! I used frozen fried shrimp to save time. I added green onions and extra cayenne to the remoulade. I'm adding this to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Fantastic! I did halve the cayenne and next time I will add some salt to the Panko and/or flour mixture on the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Just made this for dinner tonight, and my husband loved it and he isn't normally a fried shrimp fan. Followed the recipe except for the Ponzu Lime, used soy and lime as suggested by others; reduced to two servings. Used homemade french rolls The remoulade sauce was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States