Shrimp Po' Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Followed recipe exactly. Love the sauce... this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasonFromCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byers, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I must say this was a hit at my house. I had frozen cooked jumbo shrimp on hand so I marinated the shrimp in the 2 tablespoons of creole seasoning once they thawed enough to take the tails off (instead of adding it to the flour). This allowed the flavor to infuse the shrimp. I left them in the fridge in a single layer in a gallon zip top storage bag till dinnertime. Due to allergies, I substituted soy milk for the eggs and I double battered some of the shrimp in flour a second time instead of the panko. The sauce was outstanding! Thank you. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Very fun dinner! I actually bought a large french loaf and just sliced it into sub-size pieces. I did not use the k-lime sauce (because I really don't like soy sauce) and just squeezed a fresh lime. And yes, for time's sake, I also used frozen breaded shrimp. Still a great recipe! Never have had a po'boy, and neither had my husband. Again, very fun, out-of-the-box dinner last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe rocked!!! I followed the recipe exactly (however, I didn't use the exact brand of ingredients) and it was so delicious. The sauce was just spicy and tangy enough and paired well with the golden fried shrimp. This recipe is a keeper and will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I took the lazy way out and used frozen breaded shrimp. I made the sauce as directed-my husband loves these sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
The sauce was soooo amazing!!! Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made it exactly as the recipe says and it turned out delicious. Everyone loved it and finished every bite. This one is a keeper and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
OK- this recipe was awesome completely as is! I made NO changes except to sneak bites of shrimp while cooking-- soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My husband had his first shrimp po' boy at Cafe Zydeco (Bowzman, MT) and has been beggin me to make them here at home. Finally did and this (according to him) even gave his favorite a run for their money. Not an easy dish to make (so many moving parts) and definite a kitchen mess afterwards, but taste was everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is my new favorite allrecipes recipe!! The recipe is perfect and the only thing that I chose to adjust is to use the small popcorn shrimp instead of the jumbo kind. FYI, I found the Kikkoman Ponzu Lime at an Asian market because it is difficult to find in your average grocery store. My 3 year old gobbled it up. I highly recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States