Shrimp Po' Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was friggen great! I had a vegetarian friend over and did half and half shrimp and tofu and it was great! I used firm tofu and let it dry a bit on paper towels. The remoulade was delicious. I couldn't find any creole season by allrecipes had a solution! Top marks for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
While the sauce is good, it's nothing spectacular. I used about 2 tbsp of lime and 1 tbsp of soy sauce. It did not seem to have too much soy sauce in it, but it's possible that the Ponzu sauce would have worked better. The shrimp was bland, although I love Panko crusted anything. Overall, it was just okay. With the good reviews, I was hoping for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was great. Thank you! I would double the remoulade sauce and 2 pounds of shrimp seemed to be more than enough. Some for snacking some for the po boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
PERFECTLY breaded shrimp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Hartline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Just made this for dinner tonight, and my husband loved it and he isn't normally a fried shrimp fan. Followed the recipe except for the Ponzu Lime, used soy and lime as suggested by others; reduced to two servings. Used homemade french rolls The remoulade sauce was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
great po' boys!! We did shrimp and oysters and had nothing but rave reviews from our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
A bit time consuming but worth it. My hubby loves Shrimp Po'Boys from Popeyes and he thought these were just as good. I also couldn't find the ponzu lime but it was still great. I used a splash of lime juice and soy sauce and hoagie rolls instead of the french bread. I had a hard time keeping the breading on the shrimp but next time I think I'll use a skillet instead of a pan. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Restaurant quality! The sauce is a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was excellent, and one of the few recipes I really think is 5 star AS IS. I love the idea of making the French bread into garlic bread and thought that was a great touch. I followed the directions to a tee and wouldn't change anything except perhaps adding more creole seasoning to the flour mixture and 1-1.5 lbs of shrimp is PLENTY. I was able to find the Ponzu sauce in the Asian section of Safeway, but for those that can't it's basically watered down soy sauce with lime and a touch of sugar (as indicated on the ingredients list and this is what it tastes like). I used one loaf of french bread, assembled the sandwich and then cut into 4 pieces. Served with cajun fries and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States