Shrimp Po' Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I really just used the recipe for the remoulade sauce and it was perfect for my shrimp and crabmeat salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I was craving fried shrimp and had some sourdough rolls left. I came across this recipe. Yummy. I used frozen deveined shrimp and subbed cornmeal for the breadcrumbs. I used what I had on had for filling the po' boy: lettuce mix, tomatoes, and skipped thee horseradish for the remoulade. This was better than the neighborhood fried fish joint. Dipped the po'boy in some leftover remoulade with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made this for lunch for a few of my friends. They loved it! The only thing change I made was to put the creole seasoning directly on the shrimp before putting it in the flour. I had never made a po boy before, but this was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Both me and my 9 year old son totally loved this recipe exactly as is. In his words - "totally epic Mom!" My only minor suggestion would be to add a little hot sauce or cayenne either to the eggs or maybe directly to the shrimp to give them a little more flavor, but overall this is definitely 1 of our top 3 recipes from this site!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I have been trying to make good po boys for years and have finally found the recipe! I followed the suggestions to roll the shrimp in Cajun/cayenne seasoning before the flour. Finally, shrimp with a kick! The sauce was amazing! I hate mayonnaise and my husband is really picky, but we both loved this. I used lemonaise in place of regular mayonnaise, ponzu citrus (all I could find) and a splash of lime juice with the other ingredients. The crusty French bread tied it all together. Very messy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
OK, I'm not a seafood fan, but I do try to make it at least once a month for my seafood loving family. I made this recipe for dinner the other night. I cheated and used 2 boxes of frozen popcorn shrimp I found on sale. I deep fried them per the instructions on the box and then sprinkled them with Cajun seasoning. For the sauce, I didn't have any Kikkoman Ponzu lime, so I used a squirt of lime juice and some soy sauce instead. My husband and stepson LOVED this. THEY. ABSOLUTELY. LOVED. THIS. It was sooo easy using the frozen shrimp. I served it with a fresh fruit salad. The absolute easiest recipe ever. I will DEFINITELY make this for them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Amazing! Loved it! Substituted a little lime juice and soy for the Ponzu lime. Didn't matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Yum!! I used frozen shrimp, so I can't comment on the shrimp. Just the remoulade was great and makes the whole sandwich. I literally had a complete meal in under 15 minutes, and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was really good and fairly simple. I toasted the bread for a bit too long at a low temp, so it was too hard to eat, instructions on the temp and length to toast it at would have helped, but oh well! I had untoasted buns left that I ate it on. I upped the ante with the spices too. I had my husband make his special creole spice mixture and I used it as the first thing I dredged the shrimp in, before the flour, egg, then panko. They were SO flavorful, I'm really glad I decided to do it that way instead of mixing it all together! I also pumped up the amount of horseradish in the sauce for a bit more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
PERFECTION. Exactly what I was hoping for; thank you!! Will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States