Shrimp Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Not a whole lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
As recommended by other reviews, I doubled the sauce. However, it still was not enough! My noodle turned out soggy too...I definatly recommend using the package directions (2-3 mins) instead of the direction here (30 mins). Next time I will cook the eggs first and set aside becuase they soaked up all the sauce, and I will quadruple the sauce and cut the noodles in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I had been looking for a basic Pad Thai recipe for awhile, and when I came across this one I knew it would work. Try changing the following though: added: green onions, carrot, chili sauce and a splash of hot sauce, oyster sauce rice wine vinegar, cabbage (just abit) and the lime. I dumped : ketchup, fish sauce white wine vinegar and the lemon. Oh, by the way... double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I liked this recipe but like others added crushed red pepper flakes to "kick it up a notch." I would also recommend following the directions on the package when preparing the noodles. The instructions given in this recipe tend to leave the noodles a bit rubbery. Also, add more shrimp!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
We have eaten authentic Pad Thai often in the past, which this does not have the full flavor. It is not spicy at all. Missing a couple of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Quentin, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I liked this recipe a lot, and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it wasn't the very best I've had. But it is easy, versatile and forgiving: I had to use canned bean sprouts, and only had balsamic vinegar on hand -- still, it turned out well. Like other reviewers, I followed the noodle package directions. Next time, I will add pepper flakes for a bit of spice, and might prepare a peanut sauce to drizzle on top. This went very well with fresh-cooked green beans on the side, prepared with butter and dry-roast peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbelum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I was very disappointed with this recipe. We get Pad Thai at a local restaurant and this was nothing like it! I followed the recipe, and even made the extra additions tthat the other reviewers had suggested. I'll continue to look for a recipe that tastes like what we enjoy at our favorite Thai restaurant -- this just seemed bland, even with the extra spices. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
WOW! After many, many years of loving this for carry-out, we have finally found an easy and delicious alternative! Changes: double/triple the sauce recipe as the previous reviewers suggested, added 1 tsp red pepper flakes (we like it HOT), and 2 tsp garlic chili sauce. We added a handful of shredded carott, fresh basil, fresh bean sprouts, about 1/3 lb spicy sausage (this is the way my fave restaurant makes it) and used Trader Joes Rock Shrimp. I've also used chicken. Perfect. If you love spicey Pad Thai restaurant style, you will be very happy with this. Good enough to entertain with. Thanks Laura, and thanks previous reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
hurray! finally an uncomplicated pad thai recipe that tastes like the restaurant kind. the flavour was great and it was simple to make. i also took other's advice and doubled the sauce recipe, except for the vinegar. also i used lime juice instead of lemon. i also added green onion near the end of cooking and some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I actually really liked it-if I was able to give it 3 1/2 stars, I would. I was craving pad thai that I had to make it. Instead of vinegar, I used rice wine vinegar. And I ate it with the hot chili sauce on the side. I also used chicken instead of shrimp since that's what I had. I actually like Thai Kitchen pad thai sauce better than this one but this one really satisfied my Pad Thai craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States