Shrimp over Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Made this tonight amazing!!!! use portabella mushrooms and pesto sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Just cooked the grits in the recipe and used Costo marinated shrimp with it. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Loved this recipe. It was easy, I added in some Old Bay Seasoning to the saute as well as extra salt and pepper, mushrooms for my husband and left out the peppers. I used 8oz shredded pepper jack in the grits & sprinkled Old Bay, salt & pepper. At the end I sprinkled crumbled pieces of bacon on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I added bacon crumblesan used chicken broth vs. water. In retrospect, I would have put hot sauce in my grits. So good. It's a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I did not use the cream, but this dish was delicious,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Very good. I added a few things: *I used sour cream instead of cream *I used 1/2 cube vegetable bullion with grits *I also used Old Bay seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was very good as is. It was just a little bland for our tasting but still so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Loved it!!! I changed it just a little. I seasoned the shrimp with garlic powder and Old Bay. I also used my own recipe for cheese grits. I prepared them with a can of chicken broth and stirred in cheddar cheese (not processed) when they were done. Husband said he would like better without the cheese in the grits so next time I guess I'll make him his own grits cause I think the cheese added the extra zing to this dish. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe is quite like the one I have been making for several years only I also saute equal amounts of celery with the peppers, more garlic and add about a Tblsp of "Liquid Crab/Shrimp Boil" and about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp cayenne or red pepper. That adds the needed kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kokomo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great recipe.. only a few moderations; I didn't have cream or red pepper,so I used a small can of diced tomatoes. Also added Old Bay Seasoning to onion/tomato mixture. I usually use Old Bay Seasoning when cooking any seafood as it really brings out the flavor. I used 4 pats of butter instead of olive oi for sauteeing. Had some maple sausage links in the fridge, so I cut them up(after fully cooking them) and added them to the mixture at the end! Hubby said it was my best creation (I'm an amateur) yet. Even my Mother had 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sybell108

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States