Shrimp Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Making this recipe was a bust. There is way too much milk so it dilutes the supposed sauce that is supposed to flavor the shrimp. Result: no flavor and soggy English muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe. I did not melt it over bread, but pasta instead. It was trial and error with making the roux. I cut down on the milk, used the stated amount of flour, and put in a Old Bay to taste. I loved the taste. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zenobia2k12
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Yummy! I made a few adjustments. 1cup almond milk, 4tsp spelt flour,mushrooms, wild rice,added tomatoes into mix, and I used garlic texas toast.....delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenobia2k12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
BAMMMMM!!!! So GOOD!!! My kids liked the skillet clean!....after it cooled of course!! ;~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was so insanely salty it was practically inedible and I only used half the Old Bay. Wow, maybe with like a teaspoon of Old Bay it would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Well I took the IDEA of this recipe, but changed it up based on what I had on hand, and what we prefer. I used sun dried tomatoes in this b/c I LOVE them, and left out the celery. I also used cream instead of milk b/c I needed to use it up, but cut it in half. We prefer french bread, so I served it over those, and they were awesome! We had leftovers, and they were even better the next day! With my changes I give it a 5! It's a good one to just play around with based on what you have on hand and what seasonings you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Fantastic flavor! I really didn't measure anything, but probably added extra celery and onion and a little less Old Bay and milk. Will use all the Old Bay next time. I will definitely be making this again--looked and tasted like I worked a lot harder than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gadget_Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Crawford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This recipe was amazing! This was my first time ever cooking shrimp and I really haven't cooked much at all but I used all of CURTISLEE's recommended alterations and I even left out the celery (bf doesn't like it) and I forgot the tomatoes but the recipe was delicious! **The roux is incredibly rich so I would cut these in halves and serve them as appetizers or plan on eating just one with side dishes because. Great recipe though even for a beginning cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Really liked this recipe. I also used only one cup of milk and used a general "spice and herbs" seasoning instead of the Old Bay. It was a little spicy, so I will reduce the amount of seasoning next time, but overall was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Normally my boyfriend doesn't like shrimp or even celery but I thought I'd try this anyways. Not only did he LOVE it..he wanted seconds! When he finished I told him celery was in the dish and he said he knew but that he couldn't even taste it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States