Shrimp Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This is a Great simple recipe that has become an almost weekly meal in my house. Sometimes we use scallops and experiment with different cheeses. We LOVE this recipe - thanks for sharing it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe!!!!Fast Easy and taste great...i used half the milk (1 cup)and it came out just fine..It also taste great over white rice but if using rice use whole amount of milk...The old bay seasoning is great but a little on the spicy side...All around great recipe..Who ever thought of this is a genius
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This is an absolutely awesome recipe. Prior reviewers have scoped things out very well: 1) cut milk by half or at least a quarter or alternatively, increase the flour to thicken, 2) reduce Old Bay seasoning to 1 1/2 tablespoons or so; two tablespoons are okay, but getting close to being "too much." I used diced tomatoes because that's what I had on hand. I used regular onion because I didn't have any green onion. I left the melts under the broiler for two or three minutes for a golden brown appearance on the cheese (instead of 30 seconds to one minute). Watch the melts closely though. Food that close to the element can burn easily, of course. I used provolone on most of the melts, but tried pepper jack cheese on three of them and it was excellent too. For something a little different and definitely worth the trouble, give this one a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I loved this recipe-quick, easy and delicious. I didn't make the sauce though. I just sauteed the shrimp and onions with the seasoning in some butter. Spread some mayo on the english muffin and viola! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Delicious! Thanks for all the reviews about less milk and more flour. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious! I serve the shrimp mixture over Tuscan Pane bread from Trader Joes, not on English Muffins, though. Also, I like to add extra celery and serve with a green salad. My husband and I both really enjoy this simple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
quick and easy and yummy!! you can add what you like. I added some mushrooms for my hubby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Fantastic flavor! I really didn't measure anything, but probably added extra celery and onion and a little less Old Bay and milk. Will use all the Old Bay next time. I will definitely be making this again--looked and tasted like I worked a lot harder than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gadget_Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Crawford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Well I took the IDEA of this recipe, but changed it up based on what I had on hand, and what we prefer. I used sun dried tomatoes in this b/c I LOVE them, and left out the celery. I also used cream instead of milk b/c I needed to use it up, but cut it in half. We prefer french bread, so I served it over those, and they were awesome! We had leftovers, and they were even better the next day! With my changes I give it a 5! It's a good one to just play around with based on what you have on hand and what seasonings you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
BAMMMMM!!!! So GOOD!!! My kids liked the skillet clean!....after it cooled of course!! ;~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States