Shrimp Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This is an absolutely awesome recipe. Prior reviewers have scoped things out very well: 1) cut milk by half or at least a quarter or alternatively, increase the flour to thicken, 2) reduce Old Bay seasoning to 1 1/2 tablespoons or so; two tablespoons are okay, but getting close to being "too much." I used diced tomatoes because that's what I had on hand. I used regular onion because I didn't have any green onion. I left the melts under the broiler for two or three minutes for a golden brown appearance on the cheese (instead of 30 seconds to one minute). Watch the melts closely though. Food that close to the element can burn easily, of course. I used provolone on most of the melts, but tried pepper jack cheese on three of them and it was excellent too. For something a little different and definitely worth the trouble, give this one a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
quick and easy and yummy!! you can add what you like. I added some mushrooms for my hubby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I'm giving this a 4 because the end product came out very well. But I think there are some adjustments that need to be made on the ingredients. First of all, there is way too much milk. I used a little more flour than called for (added an extra pinch or two) and only used HALF the milk called for..and probably should have used a little less milk. I would say add the milk in batches and stir, and stop before it gets too soupy. I used frozen shrimp that was about 3/4 defrosted, so I may have had A LITTLE more liquid than normal, but it is just too much milk. Even with only using 1/2 the milk mine was still boardering on "soupy". The other adjustment I would make is the Old Bay amount. I love Old Bay, and I like things salty and spicy, BUT, the full amount (which I added) was on the boarder of me enjoying it (which I did). If it were any saltier I would have probably eaten it, but though "god this is salty" with every bite. The finished product also tastes distinctly of Old Bay, so if you aren't a fan, this is not the recipe for you! And don't salt your tomato before you broil it! I would also like more celery and green onion, and used Swiss intead of Provolone, but that is just personal taste. Ended up tasting very good, just watch the milk and the Old Bay. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This recipe was excellent. It was a bit spicy, next time I will use 1 tbsp of old bay instead of 2. I also took the advice of another and used only half the milk, and it was plenty. Very easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was so insanely salty it was practically inedible and I only used half the Old Bay. Wow, maybe with like a teaspoon of Old Bay it would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Really liked this recipe. I also used only one cup of milk and used a general "spice and herbs" seasoning instead of the Old Bay. It was a little spicy, so I will reduce the amount of seasoning next time, but overall was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Fantastic flavor! I really didn't measure anything, but probably added extra celery and onion and a little less Old Bay and milk. Will use all the Old Bay next time. I will definitely be making this again--looked and tasted like I worked a lot harder than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gadget_Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Crawford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Well I took the IDEA of this recipe, but changed it up based on what I had on hand, and what we prefer. I used sun dried tomatoes in this b/c I LOVE them, and left out the celery. I also used cream instead of milk b/c I needed to use it up, but cut it in half. We prefer french bread, so I served it over those, and they were awesome! We had leftovers, and they were even better the next day! With my changes I give it a 5! It's a good one to just play around with based on what you have on hand and what seasonings you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This recipe was amazing! This was my first time ever cooking shrimp and I really haven't cooked much at all but I used all of CURTISLEE's recommended alterations and I even left out the celery (bf doesn't like it) and I forgot the tomatoes but the recipe was delicious! **The roux is incredibly rich so I would cut these in halves and serve them as appetizers or plan on eating just one with side dishes because. Great recipe though even for a beginning cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Normally my boyfriend doesn't like shrimp or even celery but I thought I'd try this anyways. Not only did he LOVE it..he wanted seconds! When he finished I told him celery was in the dish and he said he knew but that he couldn't even taste it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States