Shrimp Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I'm giving this a 4 because the end product came out very well. But I think there are some adjustments that need to be made on the ingredients. First of all, there is way too much milk. I used a little more flour than called for (added an extra pinch or two) and only used HALF the milk called for..and probably should have used a little less milk. I would say add the milk in batches and stir, and stop before it gets too soupy. I used frozen shrimp that was about 3/4 defrosted, so I may have had A LITTLE more liquid than normal, but it is just too much milk. Even with only using 1/2 the milk mine was still boardering on "soupy". The other adjustment I would make is the Old Bay amount. I love Old Bay, and I like things salty and spicy, BUT, the full amount (which I added) was on the boarder of me enjoying it (which I did). If it were any saltier I would have probably eaten it, but though "god this is salty" with every bite. The finished product also tastes distinctly of Old Bay, so if you aren't a fan, this is not the recipe for you! And don't salt your tomato before you broil it! I would also like more celery and green onion, and used Swiss intead of Provolone, but that is just personal taste. Ended up tasting very good, just watch the milk and the Old Bay. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This recipe was excellent. It was a bit spicy, next time I will use 1 tbsp of old bay instead of 2. I also took the advice of another and used only half the milk, and it was plenty. Very easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This is a Great simple recipe that has become an almost weekly meal in my house. Sometimes we use scallops and experiment with different cheeses. We LOVE this recipe - thanks for sharing it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
It was a wonderful meal on a chilly night. Thanks for sharing. Made NO changes what-so-ever, the recipie turned out right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASHASMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe!!!!Fast Easy and taste great...i used half the milk (1 cup)and it came out just fine..It also taste great over white rice but if using rice use whole amount of milk...The old bay seasoning is great but a little on the spicy side...All around great recipe..Who ever thought of this is a genius
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DV
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is a superb recipe. My fiancée absolutely adored the final product. However, I made several changes. First off, I cut the amount of milk in half; any more would have made the mixture too thin. Also, instead of slicing the tomato, I chopped it up and mixed it in right before scooping the mixture onto the bread. As for the bread, I used sliced sourdough (with mayo); instead of English muffins (it’s what I had). I also did not broil the melt; instead, I put it in the toaster oven for 4 minutes at 450, and that melted the cheese (Provolone and Swiss) just fine. The amount of Old Bay Seasoning was acceptable, though I saw several varieties at the store, so I imagine some are spicier than others. I used the garlic and herbs version and we didn’t find it too spicy. Overall, this is a great recipe. It’s flexible and has a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This is an absolutely awesome recipe. Prior reviewers have scoped things out very well: 1) cut milk by half or at least a quarter or alternatively, increase the flour to thicken, 2) reduce Old Bay seasoning to 1 1/2 tablespoons or so; two tablespoons are okay, but getting close to being "too much." I used diced tomatoes because that's what I had on hand. I used regular onion because I didn't have any green onion. I left the melts under the broiler for two or three minutes for a golden brown appearance on the cheese (instead of 30 seconds to one minute). Watch the melts closely though. Food that close to the element can burn easily, of course. I used provolone on most of the melts, but tried pepper jack cheese on three of them and it was excellent too. For something a little different and definitely worth the trouble, give this one a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Totally unimpressed! The Old Bay is way too strong. It overpowers the shrimp so I couldn't even taste it. My kids wouldn't eat it, nor would my husband, after about the 2nd or 3rd bite. Unfortunate, because this recipe looked like it would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Nothing spectacular. We couldn't finish it. There was way to much seasoning in this recipe. I think even cutting the seasoning in half would still be too much. It also calls for way too much milk too. Very disappoined. It sounded good but it was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I loved this recipe-quick, easy and delicious. I didn't make the sauce though. I just sauteed the shrimp and onions with the seasoning in some butter. Spread some mayo on the english muffin and viola! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States