Shrimp Marinaders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I was looking for a quick and easy dish to take to a patio party, and this was it! They were gone in minutes! I used a combination of rice vinegar and red wine vinegar, and added a few more dashes of Tabasco sauce the next day after tasting. I also left the onions in slices to marinate, then removed them before serving so the aroma wouldn't knock everyone over. Great appetizer/party recipe - thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I had something similar to this at a recent wedding, so I was very excited to try this. I used the basic recipe, but I can never leave anything alone. I taste-tested a shrimp about halfway through the marinating time, and it seemed to need a little zip, so I added the juice of one lemon, some chopped green onions, and a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper (we like spicy). Perfect! This is great as an appetizer, or as a main course on these hot, steamy days. My husband liked it so much he asked me to make it when his family comes to visit next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Really good appetizer-very easy to make-It only marinated for about 5 hours but had a good flavor-I used Tiger sauce(a Louisiana product) for the hot sauce and think I'll add more than the 2 tsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Just a wonderful recipe. It's a great way to defrost frozen cleaned jumbo shrimps. I pour the mixture over the shrimp in a gallon size zipper bag. Put in the fridge overnight. Take out the fridge at least 15 minutes before serving. Very good on lettuce with cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This was ok, not as much flavor as I hoped. I made it with a combination of white balsamic and apple cider vinegars. I wouldn't make this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I used this as a marinade for peeled raw shrimp and everyone LOVED it. I marinated it overnight in the fridge and cooked the shrimp skewered on the grill. Excellent!! I am thinking of trying this as a chicken marinade as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sally
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was easy and delicious. Like another reviewer, I left the onions in slices and removed them before serving. I did also add green onions and the juice of one lemon. Served over ice with cocktail sauce. (Also, I forgot and bought shrimp with tails ON...worked great)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Extremely easy and good - depending on the crowd, you may want to leave the onions chopped rather on the large side so that those who aren't fans can avoid them more easily. (Not a problem for those of us who like them, though, as the marinade really flavors them well.) ALSO: the leftovers are excellent on salad, the marinade is a essentially a vinaigrette dressing on its own...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I made this like it says, but used balsamic vinegar instead to punch it up some and then I took half of the shrimp and added pineapple juice. I got rave reviews! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I like the addional note that was added about the reaction of aluminum and vinegar . Not a lot of novice cooks would know this. Great Add !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimbo_7877

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States