Shrimp, Leek and Spinach Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This was good. I will say that the recipe makes very large portions and I felt that the ratio of broth to rice was off. I've made other risotto recipes before and it seemed fishy to me right off the bat. Usually you have several times more liquid than rice, whereas here it's only 2 to 1. My broth got sucked up so fast and my rice was so crunchy that I had to start adding hot water about halfway through. It still came out well, though. To summarize, I would suggest cutting down on the rice and pumping up the broth (at least a 3 to 1 ratio).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I will rate this a 5 with the following revisions: -2Tbsp olive oil for the rice and 2Tbsp for the leek mixture -Def. needs more veggie broth, 6-8C depending on your rice -More like 1 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper -1/2 tsp fresh ground salt at the end -1/2 lemon squeezed over risotto at the end and then blended just before serving. I love a hint of lemon whenever I cook with shrimp... This is a keeper risotto recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This dish is a great base to add to your recipe box that can take on many variations. Risotto is such a comfort food if made correctly. Pair it, as this does, with a protein (shellfish) and lots of veggies, including the fiber rich, spinach, and you’ve got a great, warm & filling meal. Suggestions for base: 1. Use a good quality broth for the rice to absorb. Generally, the darker the broth, the greater the concentration of pure stock to other ingredients, typically added water and/or salt. I like Kitchen Basics chicken broth. It won’t break the bank and offers a darker stock than its competitor. 2. I used a little over a 4:1 ratio of stock to rice as others have suggested, this works out to just over a full box of the stock. The key is to stop adding broth only when the rice won’t absorb any more. When you start to feel like the rice won’t absorb any more, decrease each “test” addition so you don’t end up with soup. This should give you a nice, creamy texture. 3. I preferred cooking the shrimp & scallops in a sauté pan separate from the veggies to get a nice, caramelized sear. This will also prevent them from getting overcooked and loosing their moisture by sitting in the same pan with the veggies waiting to get done. Saute until just opaque in color and then transfer and mix with the veggies. Heat through. Suggested Variations: 1. I added 2 tablespoons of unsalted butter to the risotto for added depth. 2. Try adding a couple big handfuls of parmesan or ramano ch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I made some modifications to this recipe and it turned out great - I used 1 cup of rice and 4 cups of veg broth. I also added a little romano cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Great recipe for an inexperienced cook. Lots of Fresh grated Parmesan cheese made this meal over the top. As per other reviews I used 1 cup of rice and 4 cups of broth and it turned out perfect, enough for 4 people. Took me about 45 min to make as a first time risotto maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I use chicken broth in this recipe and all other risotto recipes because of flavor. I only did shrimp , no spinach and lots of garlic , it's always good ! I like to add shallots fresh parsley and basil at the end. I add the raw shrimp at the very end once the heat is turned off so the shrimp don't overcook .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was my first time making Risotto, but by far not my first time eating it. My rating is a 3 because the rice to broth ratio should be 3:1 or slightly more, but here it is a little off. I used 5 cups broth to 1 and a half cups rice and it was almost just enough. Adding a little extra wine (Sauvignon Blanc) and water gave the rice just what it needed. To save money I excluded scallops and went with a half pound of shrimp (We are not big meatheads). I cooked through most everything accordingly, except previously noted, and it turned out delicious. I did not combine the veggies and rice, but did plate the rice with the veggies on top (allowing the diner to eat as many veggies as they wanted. This meal was excellent and is coupled well with a homemade dry bread. The rich buttery flavor from the rice couples well with the leek and shrimp for a good finish to a good night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
We did not add shrimp to this because of preference. This was very good, but it needs more vegetable broth. We had to add water to it. Will make again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This just ended up tasting very strongly of leeks and spinach and not much else. I had precooked shrimp that I added right at the end and they didn't pick up much flavor. Raw shrimp that could cook longer might be better in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was delicious, even though I didn't get the texture of the risotto exactly right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States