Shrimp, Leek and Spinach Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was such a wonderful and healthy dish. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This dish is a great base to add to your recipe box that can take on many variations. Risotto is such a comfort food if made correctly. Pair it, as this does, with a protein (shellfish) and lots of veggies, including the fiber rich, spinach, and you’ve got a great, warm & filling meal. Suggestions for base: 1. Use a good quality broth for the rice to absorb. Generally, the darker the broth, the greater the concentration of pure stock to other ingredients, typically added water and/or salt. I like Kitchen Basics chicken broth. It won’t break the bank and offers a darker stock than its competitor. 2. I used a little over a 4:1 ratio of stock to rice as others have suggested, this works out to just over a full box of the stock. The key is to stop adding broth only when the rice won’t absorb any more. When you start to feel like the rice won’t absorb any more, decrease each “test” addition so you don’t end up with soup. This should give you a nice, creamy texture. 3. I preferred cooking the shrimp & scallops in a sauté pan separate from the veggies to get a nice, caramelized sear. This will also prevent them from getting overcooked and loosing their moisture by sitting in the same pan with the veggies waiting to get done. Saute until just opaque in color and then transfer and mix with the veggies. Heat through. Suggested Variations: 1. I added 2 tablespoons of unsalted butter to the risotto for added depth. 2. Try adding a couple big handfuls of parmesan or ramano ch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
actually i made quite a lot of changes, but that will not affect the taste of the risotto. i added squid and mushroom and didnt put red pepper. It turned out fine, the texture of rice was good but i used a ratio of 4 to 1 after reading others review. For some reason it turned out quite salty but i think it was the broth i was using. Other than that, my first risotto was a success =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auto_pilot

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was SO good. Definitely needed an extra cup of liquid when making the risotto...I just used plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Chop spinach instead of adding big leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I love this dish. I used this as the base for my first attempt at risotto. It's delish! I did add portobella mushrooms and extra parmesan cheese to mine and I used chicken broth and white wine as the liquid... but otherwise I followed the remaining ingredients as listed (although I only had shrip on hand...no scallops.) I reduced the rice to 1 cup, so my ratio was about 3-4 parts liquid to 1 part rice. I added fresh chopped spinach to the cooked risotto at the very end and it was perfect. (I did not cook the spinach with the other ingredients). This was very easy to make and I will make it again! Lovely dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMEEKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Awesome recipe. Adjusted it from 2 cups broth for every 1 cup of rice, to 3 cups broth, perfect, being Spanish, I added a little cilantro or recao, and added some basil towards the end, and drizzled a little lime juice over it before serving it, to kick up the sea food a little. Instant family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H-Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Followed the advice of other posters and used 3 c of broth for each cup of rice. Substituted diced chicken thigh for the scallops and served with parmesan cheese and lemon. Just right for 4 servings. It was good but seems to still to be missing something. Would try some herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Nice recipe. As others advised, I used 4 cups of broth for 1 cup of rice and it came out at perfectly. I also cut up some lemon wedges which I put in while cooking. Once done I removed them. It gave a nice hint of lemon to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I'm not a shrimp lover, but this was great. My favorite risotto so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States