Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
So good! I sometimes add sausage to this one. Ck gets a little funny tasting as a leftover, so sometimes I just leave it out, but it's so good the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KerriToki90
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I agree with another review. 5 hours at low is plenty and then the last 15 minutes I added the shrimp and orzo on high. Very tasty would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerriToki90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This recipe was fantastic. I was worried about chicken in the crockpot all day, but it was so tender and moist and just broke apart in the Jambalaya. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Add sausage and Cajun seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Great recipe! Used brown rice pasta instead and It added a nice texture without the gluton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
simple, fast and delicious, all I did was add about 2 1/2 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
nice little recipe - but it is NOT Jambalaya! So I give it 2 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamEats

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I also added cajun style andouille sausage, a lot more spices, and some Frank's Hot Sauce to make it extra spicy. It definitely hit the spot on this nice snow day! It was pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
First of all, I made a couple of changes to this recipe. I used a full tsp of salt instead of 1/2 and added about a tbsp of chili powder to give it a little more kick and depth. Also, I didn't have any orzo, so I used instant brown rice. The pros to this recipe are that it is very easy and a great example of slow cooker "make it and forget it". The cons (in my opinion) are that even with the added salt and spices, it was still kind of bland. This is more of a "mock jambalaya" simply because a true jambalaya has a lot more kick and richness created by the roux and cajun spices. However, there is a lot of room for experimentation with this recipe, and I will continue to use it as a base and play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
we made this over the weekend and thought it could use more seasonings. very bland! we added extra shrimp and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States