Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I have saved this recipes and will use it often! I have used it for a dinner party and I've never had a recipe so loved, other then a quince that I make. Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was a very good base recipe. I made some changes; I used creole seasoning and celery salt with a quick microwaved chicken flavored rice mixed in with my sauteed onion and green pepper (no peas), I put in 1 1/2c of hot water with a chicken bullion cube and added diced canned tomatoes. I added in uncooked shrimp last for about 15min. All I know is that this turned out great, hubby was pleased, and I'll be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Mark enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
awesome recipe sometimes i will put some mild italian sausage sliced with or without chicken cubed (i have some friends who are allergic to shellfish and i make this one alot).if you want an added kick reserve the tomatoe juice from the canned tomatoes and reduce it with a tsp of chili sauce and add at the end it will bump it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Good recipe but I made it WAY to HOT. I will do it again know that I know what i am going and what to expect and the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mattapan, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
It was great. I used jalapenos instead of green peppers but all in all its a great recipe and I used chicken broth also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is a great "base" for a great jambalaya...I modified it quite a bit- I got rid of the celery and peas completely. I added about 5 strips of thick cut bacon (chopped) and fried that with the veggies in the beginning...after the bacon was just about cooked I threw in the rice and let the rice fry on it's own for a bit. I then added the remaining ingredients. Being a fan of spicy food, 1/8 tsp. of cayenne just wasn't enough, I did more like 1/4 teaspoon. I also (like almost everyone else) decided to use chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I don't like overcooked shrimp, so I used raw shrimp...I have a feeling that cooking already cooked shrimp would make them rubbery. Anyhow, the dish turned out fantastic! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.elle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great recipe, easy to follow. Chicken broth does give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Three Bridges, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Loved the recipe. I modified it a bit and used red pepper so that it was sweeter (I just don't like green pepper). Its not spicy so hot pepper or hot sauce could be added. I would also cut up the shrimp into bite sized portions or use the mini shrimp (just preference). We tried adding cheddar cheese to part of it and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The spices are wonderful!!! Even better with a few dashes of hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States