Shrimp in Avocado Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
It was rather bland, as others have said. Also, watch your garlic carefully when sauteeing. Mine burnt a little and the result wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very good "base" recipe. I personally thought it needed to be seasoned more,as others have said, but it's a great, simple beginning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
A new favorite! I used butter and olive oil, sauteed 3 green onions and garlic for a few mins. added about 3/4c. of half n half, some seasoned salt, like nature's seasoning, and then mashed up 3 whole avacados into this mixture and reduced it a bit. What resulted was a thick, creamy, (but with good texture) sauce that I poured over toasted sourdough bread with shrimp on top,(they were already cooked)grilled asparagus and a salad of mixed greens with pears, dried cranberries and poppy seed dressing. A big hit. Take a recipe and make it your own. Use it as a guideline and suit it to you and your family's taste. This idea was exceptional and I will be making this again and again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kararae_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I sauteed onions & garlic in the butter before adding avacado, and added some spices (salt, garlic powder) and cheese (pecorino romano) at the very end. Otherwise, this dish would have been very bland. I served it over rice, and it was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I never made this myself but ive had it before and it was put on top of steak and serve with some potatoes and mac and cheese or something.. its very good on steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was very simple and very tasty. I served the shrimp over herbed rice & drizzeled the sauce over the top. I then garnished with lime juice and green onions and accompanied it with fresh green beans. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
A little unusual tasting. My 2 year old loved it. But I did not know what else to make with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
this was okay. i wish i knew what to serve with it. I tried pasta, and that just made it bland. maybe would be a good dip for shrimp or crackers, It has potential. I just cant see it as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States