Shrimp Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
THIS SOUP GETS AN A++++!!! I'VE BROUGHT IT TO SEVERAL FAMILY FUNCTIONS AND EVERYONE HAS RAVED ABOUT IT! I'VE ADDED MORE AVOCADOS BECAUSE MY HUSBAND LOVES THEM! YOU MAY ALSO WANT TO ADD SOME EXTRA SPICES LIKE SEASONED SALT OR MEXICAN SPICES!! A++++++++++!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I cut the recipe down to 4, I used frozen/thawed salad shrimp (otherwise I'd have given them a rough chop), I diced everything very fine & I used cilantro-in-a-tube (about 2 tbps). I also added celery salt, a couple of tbp of EVOO, a tbp of worcestershire (figure it's good in bloody mary's so what the heck), some diced yellow bell pepper & a smidgeon of hubby's hot sauce (it's garlic, serrano peppers, bell peppers & onions, roasted & pureed). I made it up & let it meld in the fridge for a couple of hours & then gave it a squeeze of lime before I served it in chilled bowls. This is a very filling, satisfying gazpacho ...all the accompaniments it needs is some toast & a glass of sauvignon blanc. Thansk for a great recipe Dawn...we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Easy, and good. To one bowl I added some salsa. I might add black beans sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Barbee
Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I never thought about using avocados in soups before, so when I came across this recipe I was pleasantly surprised. The only thing different I did was leave out the cucumber, use mixed seafood instead of just shrimp, and make my own tomato soup base by stewing some tomatoes just covered in water with some garlic for 15 minutes and blending it with some leftover drainings from boiling the seafood. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I LOVED this dish. I added 1tbsp of garlic and 1tbsp of olive oil but it was just as good before I added them. I also cut my shrimp into bite sized pieces to get shrimp in every bite! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This recipe is great as a starter - I used all tomato juice, salad shrimp, added 2 diced jalapeno peppers, 2 T. garlic powder, 2 T. Worchestershire sauce and about 10 T. hot sauce. My wife and I love our food spicy so we made these changes/additions. Great recipe - thanks Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is almost identical to authentic Mexican Shrimp Cocktail. If you want to make it as such, add extra lime, a little salt to taste, and here's the trick: either add the juice of a can of jalepenos to taste (just the juice!) or a few dashes of Tapatio. I use both. All you need is a package of saltine crackers and a nice cold beer for the perfect summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was WONDERFUL! I grew up eating this and it tastes just like my dad used to make. I scaled it down and used what I had on hand. I used a 46 oz of V8 vegetable tomato juice, 1 cucumber, 1 avocado, 1lb of cooked, frozen shrimp that I defrosted under cold water, half of a red onion, half bunch of cilantro, 1/4 lemon juice, salt, pepper and about 1/2 to 1 tsp of cayenne pepper as well as a tsp of worchestire sauce. It turned out so well. Be cautious if you choose to put cayenne in it. As I was making it, it didn't taste very spicy at all so I added a bit more but as it sat in the fridge to chill, the cayenne assumed its full potential and was hot. We love spicy food and it wasn't too spicy for us at all, but wanted to tell others in case they used it and couldn't taste the flavor as they were preparing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Delicious!!!! I added 2 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce and celery salt and cayenne pepper to taste. Makes for a perfect lunch or even an appetizer when served in small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was VERY good and incredibly refreshing! I tried cutting the recipe in 1/2, but it was so chockful of chunky goodness, that I ended up using the full amount of the Clamato juice. I had about 1/2 a yellow & 1/2 an orange bell pepper, so I diced and threw them in; the only other change I made was that I also added Tapatio Mexican hot sauce (probably about 2 T. in the end) and I upped the salt and pepper to taste. So, so good! Toss in a splash of vodka, and it could be a savory Blood Mary-Sangria hybrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States