Shrimp Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was WONDERFUL! I grew up eating this and it tastes just like my dad used to make. I scaled it down and used what I had on hand. I used a 46 oz of V8 vegetable tomato juice, 1 cucumber, 1 avocado, 1lb of cooked, frozen shrimp that I defrosted under cold water, half of a red onion, half bunch of cilantro, 1/4 lemon juice, salt, pepper and about 1/2 to 1 tsp of cayenne pepper as well as a tsp of worchestire sauce. It turned out so well. Be cautious if you choose to put cayenne in it. As I was making it, it didn't taste very spicy at all so I added a bit more but as it sat in the fridge to chill, the cayenne assumed its full potential and was hot. We love spicy food and it wasn't too spicy for us at all, but wanted to tell others in case they used it and couldn't taste the flavor as they were preparing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is almost identical to authentic Mexican Shrimp Cocktail. If you want to make it as such, add extra lime, a little salt to taste, and here's the trick: either add the juice of a can of jalepenos to taste (just the juice!) or a few dashes of Tapatio. I use both. All you need is a package of saltine crackers and a nice cold beer for the perfect summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I cut the recipe down to 4, I used frozen/thawed salad shrimp (otherwise I'd have given them a rough chop), I diced everything very fine & I used cilantro-in-a-tube (about 2 tbps). I also added celery salt, a couple of tbp of EVOO, a tbp of worcestershire (figure it's good in bloody mary's so what the heck), some diced yellow bell pepper & a smidgeon of hubby's hot sauce (it's garlic, serrano peppers, bell peppers & onions, roasted & pureed). I made it up & let it meld in the fridge for a couple of hours & then gave it a squeeze of lime before I served it in chilled bowls. This is a very filling, satisfying gazpacho ...all the accompaniments it needs is some toast & a glass of sauvignon blanc. Thansk for a great recipe Dawn...we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
THIS SOUP GETS AN A++++!!! I'VE BROUGHT IT TO SEVERAL FAMILY FUNCTIONS AND EVERYONE HAS RAVED ABOUT IT! I'VE ADDED MORE AVOCADOS BECAUSE MY HUSBAND LOVES THEM! YOU MAY ALSO WANT TO ADD SOME EXTRA SPICES LIKE SEASONED SALT OR MEXICAN SPICES!! A++++++++++!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This recipe was SO great! I will definitely make it again. I could not use the Clamato or any other premixed clam/tomato drink because I'm allergic to MSG- so I used V8 and added a couple of handfuls of steamed clams for extra fish flavor. It was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I made this recipie for my bunko group and they loved it. The only different ingredient I used was Clamato Picante style juice and it added just the right amount of spice. Will definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is outstanding. I did add a bit of garlic but otherwise didn't stray from the recipe. I thought I made more than I would need but NOOOOOO...it's gone and I want to make another batch right away. Just make certain you use the freshest of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I LOVED this dish. I added 1tbsp of garlic and 1tbsp of olive oil but it was just as good before I added them. I also cut my shrimp into bite sized pieces to get shrimp in every bite! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Followed this recipe exactly. There are no flavors in this except the taste of clammy tomato juice. Spent an extra 30 mins. adding some flavors, lots of garlic, red wine vinegar, more salt and pepper, tabasco sauce juice of 2 lemons and olive oil. With all that it still pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. The flavors blended incredibly well. The soup was filling, satisfying and refreshing on an uncomfortably hot summer evening. We made a half recipe for 4 of us and there was plenty left over for lunch the next day and to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States