Shrimp Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. The flavors blended incredibly well. The soup was filling, satisfying and refreshing on an uncomfortably hot summer evening. We made a half recipe for 4 of us and there was plenty left over for lunch the next day and to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I could not use the Clamato Cocktail drink, so I used 24 oz. Organic tomato juice and 16 oz. clam juice. This ratio seemed right to us (I cut the recipe in half and got 6 generous portions) but we really liked the extra juice. I also added 1 TBSP Worcestershire sauce, 2 TBSP Olive Oil and Hot sauce. We also found the recipe needed more salt. I used 2 Lbs. shrimp and chopped them into bit size pieces. (Husband likes the extra protein) We enjoyed this more the next day as the onion flavor mellowed. Over all this was a huge hit. My husband was impressed with how healthy this is and my Father-in-law just enjoyed the flavors. This was a refreshing change of pace. I will make this again. - Huge hit Dawn. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Let me start by saying that I have traditionally hated most things tomato based and have never been able to stomach a glass of V8 juice. But, desperate for a summer soup, I gave this a try. It was amazing. I made some modifications including: I added some yellow peppers, some juice from a jalepeno can (per suggestion of other reviewer), season salt, lemon AND lime. ALSO, and this was the biggest thing: Clamato or whatever the bottled tomato/clam juice is in most stores has as ingredients: Water, high fructose corn syrup, tomato, blah blah blah chemicals, clam juice, in that order. I vetoed that. Instead, I used tomato juice and got an 8 ounce bottle of clam juice and combined them. I added a bit of agave to try to imitate the sweetness I imagine the canned stuff had. But, to be honest, I don't know if I'd add the agave (or that much) in the future. Maybe only a few tablespoons rather than nearly a quarter cup! Anyway, it is excellent. YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
It was good. I added Valentina hot sauce, it has a wonderful flavor. I also will use half clamato and half tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I used my Cuisinart to chop everything, the texture was great, and the flavors were very full. I added some Tobasco Sauce and Lemon Pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
was great i will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this over the summer and it was delicious! Cant wait to make it again when the weather warms up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This recipe was SO great! I will definitely make it again. I could not use the Clamato or any other premixed clam/tomato drink because I'm allergic to MSG- so I used V8 and added a couple of handfuls of steamed clams for extra fish flavor. It was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good. A nice way to turn garden veggies into a refreshing meal. I used V-8 (will try Clamato next time), and added worchestershire sauce - but I think I'll leave out the sauce next time. Didn't have avocado, and served with a dollop of sour cream. I added a jalapeno, but will probably just use jalapeno hot sauce next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is completely lovely! It is just perfect for any number of occasions - but especially a summer evening. The fresh vegetables make a beautiful presentation - and the flavor matches. I cut the shrimp in half to better fit in a spoon and added some hot sauce. It was served with green chili cornbread. Yum! This is a winner, I've already passed this on to friends. I have to thank Dawn again! I have made this many times. It's definitely a summer favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose G

Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States