Shrimp Garden Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is a wonderful base recipe to use and then tweak it to suit your tastes. I use the ingredients listed, (though I use iceberg lettuce, not romaine), and I add half a bag of shredded salad carrots. I also use the shrimp you buy at the fish counter for salad OR for a special treat I buy the small or medium shrimp that has the tails on and I just remove the tails and toss the shrimp in with the other ingredients. I then add salt and pepper and a small amount of mayonaise. (has to be mayo, the real thing, and not too much, you want to coat it lightly). Go easy on the onions, and chop the radishes nice and thin. YUM-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I also had only iceberg lettuce.I did not include radishes and celery. Substituted powdered onion spice instead of green onions and did add a bit of mayo. I used small frozen shrimp. I didn't end up measuring ingredients. It was good, nice change from regular salad or spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Loved this combination of ingredients that were handily already in my fridge, and I especially liked the bite from the radishes. I don't care for canned shrimp, so used fresh-frozen instead. I tossed this with "Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing," also from this site. Pretty, colorful and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I enjoyed the combination of flavors - I didn't have celery so I didn't add it and I used fresh-frozen shrimp that I sauteed quickly with some yummy smoked paprika. I was going to just do a veggie salad but remembered saving this recipe--I LOVE what the shrimp added to this salad. DEEElish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Yum! Great salad idea with ingredients I always seem to have around. I did use red bell pepper instead of celery though, and some 26/30 shrimp we grilled last night. Tossed with a light buttermilk ranch dressing. Will add this to my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Glen Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Johnston
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Excellent. The shrimp was a great addition to the salad. Why didn't I think of that? Easy to prepare, and servable with every dish since you can use just about any dressing or vinaigrette. I also added nuts for a crunchy texture, and would like to try croutons another time. Very healthy (depending on the dressing), so you can have an extra helping and not feel guilty about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was just OK for me.. nothing fancy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very simple garden salad topped with a seafood favorite - shrimp! This was perfect for a quick and easy lunch and a great way for me to use up the last of the leftover grilled shrimp. ("Ron's Grilled Shrimp" from this site) I cut back on the serving size using a bagged salad mix and subbed red pepper for the radish. I left out the celery and added some sliced avocado in it's place. This was fabulous drizzled with a creamy buttermilk ranch dressing - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is...to be frank...gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States