Shrimp Fried Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
My 4 year old son loved it! But I needed much more soy sauce. The sesame oil gave it a very good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was good but can be made better by tweaking it some...sorry. Here are some adjustments I made to suit our tastes, and the end result was delicious. First of all, to save time and stove space, I cooked rice in microwave while preparing other foods. (used one cup uncooked rice) I didn't use celery, used 1/2 yellow onion, one half red, and 1 bell pepper. I added a little teriyaki sauce and a teaspoon of soy sauce to sesame oil when I stirfried my shirmp. When putting all of them together at end of cooking, the vegetables, shrimp, and rice...I used 1/4 cup of soysauce and 1/2 teaspoon of ginger, and mixed well...hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2000
I (Lil'Bit) tried this recipe and thought it was very good. I added a bit more soy sauce though, and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I thought this was really bland. I don't want to have to drown it in soy sauce for flavor. Maybe I didn't use enough sesame oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
nice light flavor compared to heavy oil taste from restaurants. did use more sesame oil. cooked rice in programmable rice cooker (to save time), cooked eggs in sesame oil, then cooked shrimp in the sesame oil, then mixed all together in the skillet with more sesame oil and soy sauce for color. Family liked. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This was the first time i tried to make any type of fried rice. This recipe is AWESOME!!! I recommend it to ANYONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANDT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva On The Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Not a lot of flavor and way too much rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Like others, I added more soy sauce, and liked it. I also used brown rice over white, and langostino over shrimp. It came out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was a very simple and easy dish to prepare. It has a very light flavor which i found quite nice! I don't think you need to add more soy sauce at all! I added some chinese hot mustard sauce on top of my individual dish to give it a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
After adding more black pepper, and being generous with sesame seed oil and soy sauce, the lack of flavor was fixed. We finished the whole pot! Perfect for satisfying a chinese take-out hankering...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheOtherHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States