Shrimp Fried Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2000
I (Lil'Bit) tried this recipe and thought it was very good. I added a bit more soy sauce though, and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
My 4 year old son loved it! But I needed much more soy sauce. The sesame oil gave it a very good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I thought this was really bland. I don't want to have to drown it in soy sauce for flavor. Maybe I didn't use enough sesame oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Not a lot of flavor and way too much rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This was the first time i tried to make any type of fried rice. This recipe is AWESOME!!! I recommend it to ANYONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissTeena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva On The Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I thought this was a very good simple fried rice recipe. It is very similar to the dish I order from my fav take out place. I did change a few things though, I added mushrooms and took out the red and green peppers and the carrots because I was making a veggie dish too. The next day I mixed the too together and they were fantastic! my veggid dish had carrots, celery, mushrooms, broccoli, and water chestnuts cooked in a butter sauce that I thickened with alittle potaot starch. The butter sauce gave the rice a bit more flavor and the water chestnuts a fun crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was good but can be made better by tweaking it some...sorry. Here are some adjustments I made to suit our tastes, and the end result was delicious. First of all, to save time and stove space, I cooked rice in microwave while preparing other foods. (used one cup uncooked rice) I didn't use celery, used 1/2 yellow onion, one half red, and 1 bell pepper. I added a little teriyaki sauce and a teaspoon of soy sauce to sesame oil when I stirfried my shirmp. When putting all of them together at end of cooking, the vegetables, shrimp, and rice...I used 1/4 cup of soysauce and 1/2 teaspoon of ginger, and mixed well...hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Not impressed with this at all. Very bland in taste and way too much rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
After adding more black pepper, and being generous with sesame seed oil and soy sauce, the lack of flavor was fixed. We finished the whole pot! Perfect for satisfying a chinese take-out hankering...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheOtherHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Too much rice - I didn't use it all. Used regular sized shrimp ("large"). Added minced garlic to onion and celery. Like others, I added extra sesame oil, soy sauce, and black pepper. Very good, though! My husband loved it too (and he's not much of a rice eater.) Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Pork Fried Rice

A quick and easy one-skillet dish perfect for weeknight suppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States