Shrimp Fra Diavolo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Awesome! I sauted garlic, chopped onions and a chopped fresh hot pepper from the garden. I made the sauce as directed but cooked it a little longer, I also added a little more wine at the end. For fish, I used shrimp, bay scallops and chopped clams. I served it over linguini. Simple, quick and delicious. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Saw this on Giada's site. Very easy and good. As suggested, cook shrimp a bit in olive oil and red pepper for extra flavor --add when complete. I use the Costco frozen shrimp and this becomes a very quick, easy meal the whole family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I followed some of the instructions that Jasmine posted in her review, and this turned out really good! I'm a beginner cook, so I didn't know that making a tasty tomato/wine sauce was so easy. I didn't have to measure anything, I just estimated how much I would need for 4 servings. I'm sure the way I made it isn't the best way, but I'll post my process and ingredients for reference: First, I heated about 1 tbs of olive oil and a sliver of butter in the pan on medium heat. I put in 4 chopped cloves of garlic, 1/2 onion, 1/2 lb shrimp (halved, tails removed), and some spices (salt, pepper, parsley, basil, chili powder, generic spicy rib/chicken seasoning). When the shrimp was almost done, I took them out and added the red wine. I had a few frozen cubes that probably added up to a few tbs. I kept it on medium until most of the liquid was gone, then I added a can of diced tomatoes and the other 1/2 onion. Simmered for 20 mins, then re-added the shrimp, some ketchup (the sauce was a bit tart), and about 1/2 cup of pasta water and simmered for another 10. I only had spaghetti, so I went with it. The sauce turned out almost brown, so I was a little unsure at first, but I liked it more than any jarred sauce I've had. It was a little tart with a spicy aftertaste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foperators

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Just okay. If I were to remake this recipe I would grill the shrimp - or at the very least heat them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very delicious my family loved it! I followed a combination of other reviewer's recommendations. I used penne instread of linguini and used sour cream and some flour to thicken the sauce, didn't hold back on the crushed red pepper and added paprika and garlic powder. I used half of the garlic to saute shrimp, butter, parsley and some more red pepper and paprika. Came out spicy but just right! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is a good recipe. Per other reviewers' suggestions, I added Italian seasonings to the sauce along with the garlic. Skipped the wine because I don't keep it on hand. Very tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
i liked this a lot BUT and it's a big BUT after i tried it for the second time with some major modifications. the first time i made it it was sooo spicy and the flavors were right and then it lacked some in other departments. i modified with using only 2 cans of diced tomatoes, 7 cloves of garlic, 1/4 tsp of basil, 1/4 tsp of cayenne, 3/4 tsp pepper flakes (i can't believe this called for 2 tsps!), and i substituted the red wine for white. i also added about 1/4 tsp of brown sugar, then sprinkled some lemon juice over it once served. it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejones81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Decent recipe, although I followed the suggestions and sauteed the garlic with the shrimp. It certainly gave it a lot more flavour. I wasn't a huge fan of how chewy the shrimp was, but I think that had more to do with the ones I bought and not the recipe itself. I also put in more red pepper flakes to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I agree that this is the start of a great recipe but needs more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I just whipped up this easy meal. I altered the recipe a bit. I didnt have any red wine on hand so I substituted that ingredient with balsamic vinegar. And instead of crushed pepper flakes, I used the seeds and juice of 1 cherry pepper then chopped the pepper and sauted it in with the garlic. I also added sundried tomatoes...it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States