Shrimp Fra Diavolo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Awesome! I sauted garlic, chopped onions and a chopped fresh hot pepper from the garden. I made the sauce as directed but cooked it a little longer, I also added a little more wine at the end. For fish, I used shrimp, bay scallops and chopped clams. I served it over linguini. Simple, quick and delicious. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Saw this on Giada's site. Very easy and good. As suggested, cook shrimp a bit in olive oil and red pepper for extra flavor --add when complete. I use the Costco frozen shrimp and this becomes a very quick, easy meal the whole family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I followed some of the instructions that Jasmine posted in her review, and this turned out really good! I'm a beginner cook, so I didn't know that making a tasty tomato/wine sauce was so easy. I didn't have to measure anything, I just estimated how much I would need for 4 servings. I'm sure the way I made it isn't the best way, but I'll post my process and ingredients for reference: First, I heated about 1 tbs of olive oil and a sliver of butter in the pan on medium heat. I put in 4 chopped cloves of garlic, 1/2 onion, 1/2 lb shrimp (halved, tails removed), and some spices (salt, pepper, parsley, basil, chili powder, generic spicy rib/chicken seasoning). When the shrimp was almost done, I took them out and added the red wine. I had a few frozen cubes that probably added up to a few tbs. I kept it on medium until most of the liquid was gone, then I added a can of diced tomatoes and the other 1/2 onion. Simmered for 20 mins, then re-added the shrimp, some ketchup (the sauce was a bit tart), and about 1/2 cup of pasta water and simmered for another 10. I only had spaghetti, so I went with it. The sauce turned out almost brown, so I was a little unsure at first, but I liked it more than any jarred sauce I've had. It was a little tart with a spicy aftertaste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foperators

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Just okay. If I were to remake this recipe I would grill the shrimp - or at the very least heat them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very delicious my family loved it! I followed a combination of other reviewer's recommendations. I used penne instread of linguini and used sour cream and some flour to thicken the sauce, didn't hold back on the crushed red pepper and added paprika and garlic powder. I used half of the garlic to saute shrimp, butter, parsley and some more red pepper and paprika. Came out spicy but just right! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is a good recipe. Per other reviewers' suggestions, I added Italian seasonings to the sauce along with the garlic. Skipped the wine because I don't keep it on hand. Very tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
i liked this a lot BUT and it's a big BUT after i tried it for the second time with some major modifications. the first time i made it it was sooo spicy and the flavors were right and then it lacked some in other departments. i modified with using only 2 cans of diced tomatoes, 7 cloves of garlic, 1/4 tsp of basil, 1/4 tsp of cayenne, 3/4 tsp pepper flakes (i can't believe this called for 2 tsps!), and i substituted the red wine for white. i also added about 1/4 tsp of brown sugar, then sprinkled some lemon juice over it once served. it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejones81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Decent recipe, although I followed the suggestions and sauteed the garlic with the shrimp. It certainly gave it a lot more flavour. I wasn't a huge fan of how chewy the shrimp was, but I think that had more to do with the ones I bought and not the recipe itself. I also put in more red pepper flakes to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I agree that this is the start of a great recipe but needs more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I just whipped up this easy meal. I altered the recipe a bit. I didnt have any red wine on hand so I substituted that ingredient with balsamic vinegar. And instead of crushed pepper flakes, I used the seeds and juice of 1 cherry pepper then chopped the pepper and sauted it in with the garlic. I also added sundried tomatoes...it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States