Shrimp Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
We love this one!!! Tastes great but admittedly, I kicked it up a bit by adding some Cajun seasoning and using chipotle seasoning instead of cayenne. I cooked this dish on the stove instead of the microwave (it scares me to microwave shrimp for 10 minutes!!) At any rate, I have a few tips to conserve money and ingredients. I don't use a lot of celery so I bought what I needed from a salad bar in the market (.37 cents versus $1.50 for a bunch of celery that will wind up in the garbage anyways). Also, I use a toothpaste type squeeze thing of tomato paste (Amore Brand - supposedly the best) that's available usually at a supermarket near the other Italian sauces aisle. I use Thai rice as I prefer the taste (Nishan Brand, Jasmine that comes in a 4 lb sack and cooks up nicely if you follow the directions and is just about the right amount for this dish - 1 cup rice, 2 cups water, 1Tbsp butter). The cooking times remained about the same - seems like a bit too long for the shrimp but keep in mind that the addition of the soup cools the other stuff down so 10 more minutes of cooking still left the shrimp tender. We loved this so much we made it two nights in a row. The first night we had shrimp and large sea scallops (1Lb total) and the second we had it with shrimp, large sea scallops, and swordfish cut into bite-size pieces and substituted Cream of Shrimp. We both thought it was somewhat better with Cream of Chicken - also, used butter and not margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I'm the original TEXICANTWIN who posted this recipe...lost my old email info and password so I've created a new profile. It's important to note that yes, this can obviously be cooked on the stovetop easily and that you can totally play around with the amounts and kinds of seasonings. At home I make this spicier and for a different group I'll make it with less of a kick. I love it that people are taking this starter recipe and twisting it to their unique tastes! I've made this recipe using shrimp, crawfish, chicken, crab and fish. I've used margarine or butter, depending on what I had more of in the fridge. It all depends on what you are in the mood for. *In recent years I have decreased the amount of time I cook the shrimp in the microwave. I've been adding it last so that it doesn't overcook. Remember, a "c" shape is done but an "o" is overcooked.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Good and fast recipie. I followed the recipie to the tee. However, i found that it was kind of bland and noticed that there was something missing. I added a bay leaf and a couple dashes (1/2-3/4 tbsp) of Worchester (sp?) sauce, what a difference! it was yummy after the addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I was very skeptical of this recipe. My husband grew up in New Orleans so I knew he'd never go for a microwaved Etouffee. But, to our surprise it was great (as good as any others I've made) and I've shared it with family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Great recipe! So simple and good. Will make it again. I used red peppers instead of green and used salsa instead of tomato paste(I was out) and it was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This is an excellent and ver-r-r-r-y easy recipe to prepare. I actually made it in a saute pan insead of the microwave and added a little more red pepper to spice it up more. I also added about 1/4 cup milk as the final step because it seemed a little thick to me. It's a great and quick week night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This is a wonderful "one dish" meal. To lighten it up, I used 1/2 of the margarine and 98% fat free cream of chicken soup. We will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I was curious how this microwave recipe would turn out. You may have to adjust the microwave cooking time depending on how your fast your microwave works. I microwaved it for less than the recipe called for. I think I did the veggies for 7 minutes. Next time I'll try 6 minutes. I used defrosted cooked frozen shrimp so I cooked it for a shorter time when I added the shrimp so they wouldn't become rubbery. My husband doesn't like stuff too spicy so I only added 1/8 tsp hot pepper sauce & 1/8 tsp cayenne & just brought some hot sauce to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This was excellent. It was easy to make, tasted great, and best of all was easy to clean up afterwards. Also, if you chop up the veggies ahead of time it takes practically no time to throw it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This recipe is really really good. Very easy to make (that is after you chop up the vegetables). The first microwave meal that comes out tasting like it took hours to make on the stove. I also like the fact that you can make as hot or mild as you like. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States