Shrimp Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by intellichick
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Great recipe. I doubled the cayenne and eyed the measurement for the hot sauce (used Tapatio). Did everything on the stove top (not a big fan of using my microwave for from-scratch cooking) as well. I had just a bit of water from my prep that went it, so others would probably need 1/4 cup of water to balance out the thickness of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intellichick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I omitted the cayenne and hot sauce for my family, but used all the other ingredients, I did it on the stove top and added five chicken legs in addition to the shrimp called for. The problem with doing on the stove top was that the sauce is thick so it began to stick to the pot. I added some water to compensate but still had a mean soaking to do to clean the pan. I though this was really good but over rice, it lost a lot of its flavor. Don't know how to remedy that except eat it w/out rice. Maybe next time we'll use brown rice which doesn't absorb stuff as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I added red peppers instead of green and oregano instead of parsely as I didn't have any. Served it on top of white rice. It was pretty good but I'll try it exactly as is next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andreavyse
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I liked this reciepe alot, hubby even gave it a "9 out of 10", but in my opinion, it needed quite a bit of doctoring up, hence my 4 star. I made it as written (except stovetop), but was bland, so thats when I started making some of the changes other reviewers had suggested. I did at LEAST double (if not more than double) on my cayenne and hot pepper sauce, added some Old Bay Seasoning and a few shakes of Worchestershire sauce. Also added 1/2 cup white wine at the end to reach a nice consistancy. Served over brown rice. Would make again, but with the revisions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This recipe was amazing. I did it on the stove instead, and I substituted the green peppers for broccoli and it was amazing! It was like a party of ingredients in my mouth, I am very happy with this and am going to serve it to my parents for their anniversary tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I LOVED this recipe. It was so EASY to make. I served it with white rice and my friends enjoyed them with Ritz crackers. It was a very satisfying dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Yummm-Eeeee! I cooked this on the stove and added a little water and white wine at the end cuz it was very thick. I will make it again and again...everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very easy and VERY YUMMY.....big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This turned out great! I did add Cajun seasoning and a little Old Bay. And I used dried parsley instead of fresh because that is what I had. The sauce was delicious. It was just a tiny bit too thick for me so I just added a little water until I got the desired consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this on the stove as well and added the shrimp last. Next time I will add other seafood, my husband loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States