Shrimp Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Being in Florida I just couldn't bring myself to "nuke" my shrimp so, I compromised. I put my veggies and butter in the microwave and then transferred everything to the stove top. I did not have cream of chicken soup so I subbed golden cream of mushroom. I also used the "toothpaste" type of tomato paste. I thought it was pretty good but next time I will incorporate some other suggestions. I will definitely add the Cajun seasoning and maybe a little more hot sauce. I will make this again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very good and just as good the next day.I mixed the left over rice with the shrimp and the left overs were yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is very good. I do not use green onions, just more regular onion. I like it hot, and it's just right for us. I've made it in the microwave and on the stove top. Both ways are good, but the stove top will caramelize the veggies, which is a nice touch. I do add some water as it gets pretty thick. This is one of my go to recipes for a quick, spicy, good shrimp dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I cooked this the other night and my husband LOVED it and so did I. I cooked it on the stove top instead but it still turned out great.I will b making this again. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
My husband was intent on doing the same old frozen stir fry w/shrimp. My family does not like trying new things, but I do and I talked him into it. I did put the ingredients in a pan instead of the microwave, in fear of the frozen/thawed shrimp becoming rubbery. Followed the recipe except for kicking it up a few notches by doubling the ceyenne and chili. Then adding cajun spices to taste, and some milk to thin the sauce out a little. Definetly will cook this again, and my husband loved it, which is the worlds pickiest eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I admit I was very unsure about cooking the whole meal in the microwave but decided to follow the true recipe. It turned out fantastic! The shrimp were not "rubbery" at all. It was delicious and very enjoyable - especially since it all cooks in one dish. When I served the rice, we did add a few drops of worchestershire sauce to it for more flavor but no other changes. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by intellichick
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Great recipe. I doubled the cayenne and eyed the measurement for the hot sauce (used Tapatio). Did everything on the stove top (not a big fan of using my microwave for from-scratch cooking) as well. I had just a bit of water from my prep that went it, so others would probably need 1/4 cup of water to balance out the thickness of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intellichick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I omitted the cayenne and hot sauce for my family, but used all the other ingredients, I did it on the stove top and added five chicken legs in addition to the shrimp called for. The problem with doing on the stove top was that the sauce is thick so it began to stick to the pot. I added some water to compensate but still had a mean soaking to do to clean the pan. I though this was really good but over rice, it lost a lot of its flavor. Don't know how to remedy that except eat it w/out rice. Maybe next time we'll use brown rice which doesn't absorb stuff as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I added red peppers instead of green and oregano instead of parsely as I didn't have any. Served it on top of white rice. It was pretty good but I'll try it exactly as is next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States