Shrimp Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this last night on the stove top. I did not have hot sauce. I used red pepper flakes instead. I also added some sausage as well. This dish was fantastic!! My husband loved it too. It was easy and great. I will add this to the line-up. My husband even complimented me on dinner before going to bed and he RARELY does that so I know it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very tasty,easy and quik to prepare,I will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Really good! Made it exactly as written. Only cooked it on the stove instead of in the microwave, also doubled the recipe. Suggestions from my family was to cut the celery in half and add some cajun seasoning while cooking the vegis, we like it spicy! Also I have a son who cant eat shrimp so I took a boneless chicken breast seasoned it with a little cajun seasoning, browned it in a pan with some butter and garlic put some of the sauce in the pan and simmered it until it was fully cooked. he loved it!!Just a suggestion for anyone that may have someone in their family with a shellfish allergy. Just make the sauce, put a little aside before adding the shrimp this way the whole family can enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
very tasty!!!...will def make again...had to add a little water since it was so thick, but sooo good...give it a try folks and u will agree! thanks for posting!...God Bless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I thought this recipe was great. I did however double it because it doesnt make that much. I also did one can of cream of shrimp and one chicken. I then put in a couple of bay leaves and some Tony chacheres. It came out better than I expected and my friends and family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is pretty good. I halfed the hot sauce because I have younger children and I was worried about it being too spicy. I just put hot sauce on the table for people to add to their soup at their own discretion. At first it looks really thick, but then the shrimp shrink SIGNFICANTLY and it soup thins out, just a warning - this was my first soup with shrimp and I wasn't aware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I had never so much as heard of an Etoufee, much less tasted it, but we just thought it was average and lacking in flavor. I did like the mixture of vegetables used and was surprised it could be microwaved. At any rate, we don't think it is good enough to cook again...if I did I would go for more of a tomato sauce with just a little lemon for a cleaner, brighter flavor and skip the cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
LOVE IT! I made this dish my significant other, his 15-year-old son, and me. I don't eat large servings and those two are what I'd consider normal eaters for men and, between the three of us, there was not a bit left! It wasn't that it didn't make six servings -- it's that it was so good! Still, I'd suggest making two servings for every person you mean to serve because it'll go fast! Like others here, I made it on the stovetop. I just don't like microwave cooking. I served it with a fragrant Jasmine rice which really added to the sensory experience of this delicious dish. The one-and-only reason I gave it four stars (instead of five) is that I could detect the very slight flavor of the chicken soup at times. Still...it's not enough to keep me from putting this in our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a great base recipe. I'm giving it 4 stars b/c it needs a little more. I cooked the onion, bell pepper, & celery for a lot longer than the recipe calls For bc I don't like super crunchy veggies in it. I also added Cajun seasoning to the butter/veggie mix while it cooked on the stove (not a fan of cookin in microwave). I also added more garlic bc we love garlic and I added Tabasco for more spice. Thanks for the recipe, it got me started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
So close to being perfect to my taste buds. Cooked stove top. Followed the recipe pretty closely. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States